Club Notes‎ > ‎

Clean Ireland Recycling Tipperary Senior Football Championship - Moycarkey-Borris 4-14 Mullinahone 0-15

posted 9 Aug 2013, 04:29 by Unknown user   [ updated 12 Aug 2013, 00:52 ]
Moycarkey-Borris defeated Mullinahone by 4-14 to 0-15 in the Tipperary Senior Football Championship on Saturday August 10th at Cloneen.

“Clean Ireland Recycling” Senior Football Championship 

Moycarkey too sharp for Mullinahone 

Moycarkey-Borris 4-14 Mullinahone C.J. Kickhams 0-15 

Report by Ricky Sheehan 

Back in 2011 these two sides clashed in the later stages of the Tipperary intermediate football championship. Victory went that day to Mullinahone C.J.K. who went on to win the Tipperary title and then battled their way to the Munster club intermediate final. Affairs have not gone well in football for the Kickhams in the interim. Moycarkey have also graduated in the meantime to senior football ranks, but have made no major impact. Both sides have felt the going difficult in this years “Clean Ireland Recycling” Tipperary senior football championship. Victories have been scarce. The spectre of relegation was hanging over both teams prior to the Anner Park Cloneen clash on Saturday evening, but at the end of the game Moycarkey were well clear by a margin of 11 points, 4-14 to 0-15. One could argue on behalf of Mullinahone that the only difference between the sides was the four goals scored by Moycarkey, but that would be somewhat unfair to the Mid lads as they were much the better side all through until they either took their collective feet off the pedal or ran out of steam. 

Well done to the county board and to Clean Ireland Recycling on the production of a colourful match programme. From a spectator point of view of the Moycarkey team and the playing personnel was reasonably accurate. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said of their opposition. Conditions for the game were excellent with Anner Park looking extremely well. Mullinahone scored first when Kevin Walzer pointed a free. However, it was Moycarkey who started the better and a point and a goal within a minute of each other in the 8th minute gave them the lead which they were never to lose or indeed for a long period never looked like losing. Mullinahone replied with another point from a Walzer free, but then Moycarkey hit six points in a row before Enda McEnery scored Mullinahone’s first point from play to leave the half time score Moycarkey Borris 1-08, Mullinahone C.J.Kickhams 0-03. 

Mullinahone pointed from a free to open the second half scoring per Danny Morrissey. Kevin Moran replied with a Moycarkey point. Eoin Kelly pointed for Mullinahone, but then came a second Moycarkey goal which definitely put paid to Mullinahone’s chances of winning. This left the score in the 8th minute Moycarkey 2-9, Mullinahone 0-5. Points were exchanged until the 16th minute when Moycarkey goaled again and it certainly was curtains when Anthony Healy scored a fourth goal with ten minutes to go. A Moycarkey point with seven minutes left was their last score, but it did leave the score Moycarkey 4-14, Mullinahone 0-10. In the last seven minutes Mullinahone scored five unanswered points, but basically this was only window dressing and putting a better look on the scoreboard. Moycarkey will no doubt take notice that they did get careless and ease off. Tighter marking will be needed in future games. Mullinahone did not defend well and they became much more vulnerable when Niall Curran was moved from full back. Teams should not concede three second half goals and in no case was goalie Alan Walsh even remotely to blame. 

Moycarkey-Borris: Daniel Kirby, Brian Moran, Paul Dempsey, Michael Cussen, Kevin Moran, David Morris, Niall O’Sullivan, Patrick Carey, Pat Molloy, Pat Doran, Rory Ryan, Conor Hayes, Ciaran Clohessy, Phil Kelly, Anthony Healy. 

Mullinahone: Alan Walsh, David Walzer, Niall Curran, Niall Mullally, Luke Mullally, Kevin Walzer, Richie Walsh, Eddie Phelan, Eoin Kelly, Donal Cody, Edwin O’Meara, Danny Morrissey, Sean Walzer, Enda McEnery, Stephen Quirke 

Referee: Tony Doyle (Ardfinnan)