Club Notes‎ > ‎

County Senior Hurling Challenge Cup - Moycarkey-Borris 2-20 Burgess 0-19

posted 19 Feb 2013, 00:57 by Unknown user   [ updated 5 Mar 2013, 02:09 ]
Moycarkey-Borris defeated Burgess by 2-20 to 0-19 in the first round of the County Senior Hurling Challenge Cup on Sunday at Kilcolman.

Moycarkey-Borris win against Burgess

In a high scoring and entertaining game at Kilcolman, Moycarkey-Borris defeated Burgess by 2-20 to 0-19. Moycarkey got an early goal but Burgess came back to lead by 0-12 to 1-6 at half time. However, Moycarkey took advantage of the wind in the second half and some fine long range point taking and a second goal set them up for a comfortable win. Rory Ryan and Anthony Healy were the Moycarkey goal scorers on the day.

Moycarkey Borris: James Doran; James Bourke, James Power, Niall O'Sullivan; Paul Dempsey, David Morris, Kevin Moran; Pat Carey, Rory O'Regan; Willie Dempsey, Pat Molloy, Ciaran Clohessy; Rory Ryan, Kieran Morris, Anthony Healy. Subs used, Mossy Bracken, Gerry Maguire and Brian Moran

Burgess: Niall McGrath; Paddy Hogan, Conor Quigley, John O’Dwyer; Johnny Mulqueen, Damien O’Brien, Brian Tucker; John O’Brien, Jack Flaherty; Stephen Murray, Shane Maher, Danny Ryan; Noel Gleeson, Eoin Hogan and Garry Howard.

The first round of the county senior hurling challenge cups (replacement for county senior hurling league) will take place on Sunday March 3 unless otherwise agreed between clubs and notified to the CCC secretary. First teams listed in the draw have home venue. Regulations will be sent to all clubs by the weekend. 

Round 1 Draws: Portroe v Knockavilla Kickhams; Cashel King Cormacs v Holycross Ballycahill; Kilruane MacDonaghs v Thurles Sarsfields; Templederry Kenyons v Silvermines; Burgess v Moycarkey Borris; Toomevara v Lorrha Dorrha; Upperchurch Drombane v Nenagh Éire Óg; Borrisokane v Killenaule; Moneygall v Clonoulty Rossmore; Roscrea v Loughmore Castleiney; Drom and Inch v Carrick Swans; Boherlahan Dualla v Cappawhite; Golden Kilfeacle v J K Brackens; Éire Óg Anacarty v Ballingarry; Kildangan v Mullinahone; Carrick Davins v Borris-Ileigh