Club Notes‎ > ‎

Jimmy Coppinger Féile Peil na nÓg Mid Final - Moycarkey-Borris 3-08 Moyne-Templetuohy 3-06

posted 7 Apr 2014, 14:53 by Juarez South
Jimmy Coppinger Féile Peil na nÓg

Moycarkey-Borris 3-08 Moyne-Templetuohy 3-06

With the rain starting to fall just as the teams took to the field, Moycarkey-Borris and Moyne-Templetuohy didn’t let conditions hamper their enthusiasm for this years Jimmy Coppinger Féile Peil final. Both sides gave their all with Moycarkey’s first half score differential crucial in the end enabling them to hold onto their crown as a resurgent Moyne side pushed them all the way in search for victory. In fact had the Moyne forward machine been more accurate at the posts it could have been them who would have been crowned champions as seven second half wides bettered their overall points tally. 

Be that as it may full credit to this Moycarkey-Borris side for holding out in the face of such second half pressure where their half back line played a key role in ensuring the Moyne forwards had to shoot from distance with Peter Melbourne particularly and Kevin Hayes clearing the lines time and again. The opening quarter was even enough two points apiece after ten minutes. However, showing excellent footwork in riding a tackle Ben Ryan made a serious force forward in breaching the Moycarkey defence as he duly set up Colin Hartigan to score the opening goal of the match. Immediately the Borris lads worked the ball down the field where Darren Flood tied it all up again with a super goal as he tore in off the left. That score was doubled in the following minute when Rhys Shelly netted courtesy of a deflection. 

Moycarkey were now in command driven on by their half forward line of Max Hackett, Flood and John Kirwan who were orchestrating the play and as they slipped into top gear points followed from Kirwan and Flood. With two minutes to the break Hackett kicked in a delightful ball which came back off the cross bar and with Shelly following the flight of the ball he was perfectly placed to punch the rebounding ball into the net, leaving it 3-04 to 1-02 at the break. 

Marty Ryan opened the scoring in the second half as he did in the first for Moyne with a free from play in the opening minute. From then until the twelfth minute it was all Moyne-Templetuohy as they took possession of the ball and laid enormous pressure on the Moycarkey defence, where Melbourne, Hayes and Rory Darmody were equal to the challenge. Despite the great efforts of Gearóid O’Connor, Jack Taylor, Aaron Maher and Ben Ryan they kicked six wides in a row as they sought to reel in the ‘Borris lead. O’Connor and Marty Ryan did reduce the deficit before a Jack Fallon brace edged Moycarkey out again. 

With a quarter of the half remaining Taylor netted keeping the Moyne hopes alive. Flood and James Dillon pointed in quick succession for the ‘Borris brigade as they edged closer to the finishing line. Not that Moyne had given up hope yet, Ben Ryan kicked over a point his efforts deserved and when Marty Ryan netted with a minute to play it left two between them and it was anyone’s match. In a pulsating finish though Moycarkey-Borris held firm to claim victory much to the relief of their followers after a terrific rally from their opponents, 

Moyne-Templetuohy. Jimmy Coppinger then stepped forward with Mid Coiste na nÓg officers Joe O’Sullivan and Sally Young to present the cup to winning captain Bill Maher. Moycarkey-Borris; Kyle Shelly, Conor Cummins, Jack Morrissey, Tom Ryan, Peter Melbourne, Rory Darmody, Kevin Hayes, Jack Fallon 02 (01f), Bill Maher (C), John Kirwan 01, Darren Flood 1-02 (01f), Max Hackett 02, James Dillon 02, Zach Jackson, Rhys Shelly 2-00, Subs; Ciarán Kirwan, Seán Mockler, Diarmuid Maher, Brian O’Callaghan, Pat Hackett, Bill Hackett, Aidan Scott, Brendan Looby, Daniel Brown, Eamonn Martin, John Coffey, Liam McDonagh, Tom Maher, Ben O’Dwyer, Shane Bourke. 

Moyne-Templetuohy; Paddy Buckley, Shane Lowe, Ciarán Larkin, Ciarán Lloyd, Dean Lawlor, Conor Bowe, Bill Hogan , Gearóid O’Connor 02 (01f), Aaron Maher, Ben Ryan 01, Jack Taylor 1-00, Seán Hayes, Nathan Bowe, Martin Ryan (C) 1-03 (02f), Colin Hartigan 1-00
Sub used Paidí Gleeson, also Eamon Guilfoyle, J.D. Fogarty, Enda Ryan, Patrick Kiely, Jamie Kiely.