Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 10th July 2017

posted 11 Jul 2017, 13:32 by Michelle Donnelly
"Tipperary Water" County Hurling League, Division (2) (Group 1) 
Moycarkey-Borris will host Carrick Swans in the "Tipperary Water" County Hurling League, Division (2) (Group 1) in Littleton at 12 noon on Sunday, July 16th.

Roskeen Construction Mid Tipp Junior A Hurling Championship 
Holycross Ballycahill will host Moycarkey Borris in the Roskeen Construction Mid Tipp Junior A Hurling Championship on Friday, July 14th at 7.30pm.

Thurles Credit Union Mid Tipp Minor A Hurling Championship
Moycarkey Borris commenced their Minor A Hurling Championship on Wednesday last in Clonmore with JK Brackens Óg as their opponents. Moycarkey started strong with a Max Hackett point in the opening minute but it was equalised quickly by JK Brackens Óg, still within that minute Anthony McKelvey rattled the net for a goal for Moycarkey. JK Brackens Óg followed with two points and Max Hackett in the eighth, kept Moycarkey ahead with another point. Points were traded but Brackens raised their own green flag in the seventeenth minute to push forward JK Brackens Óg 1-4 Moycarkey Borris 1-3. The game was nip and tuck for the next quarter with both sides adding three further points to their score line until in the final minute of injury time JK Brackens Óg added two unanswered points to go in at half time, JK Brackens Óg 1-9 Moycarkey Borris 1-6.

The second half opened with the same intensity as the first half with four points added to each score line in the first quarter. However, JK Brackens Óg then hit a purple patch with three unanswered points to stretch the margin to six points. In the fifty first minute a long ball from Anthony McKelvey tipped James Dillon’s hurl to drop over the keepers head into the goal mouth. This did not bother JK Brackens Óg as they added a goal in reply. Now the six point margin had returned and JK Brackens Óg showed no sign of tiring when they added a further six points to Moycarkey Borris two finishing the game, JK Brackens Óg 2-22 Moycarkey Borris 2-12. In their Round 2 game Moycarkey Borris will play Holycross Ballycahill on Wednesday, July 19th at 7.30pm in Littleton. 
Moycarkey Borris team – Ciaran Kirwan; David O’Donnell, Tom Ryan, Mark Heffernan; Michael Murphy, Rory Darmody, Bill Maher; Kieran Kearney, James Dillon (1-0); Max Hackett (0-4), John Kirwan, Shane Maher; Diarmuid Maher (0-1), Anthony McKelvey (1-7, 6 frees), Jack Hackett.
Subs used - Bill Hackett for Jack Hackett (48th)

Jim and Anne Kennedy Mid Tipperary Junior B Football Championship
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris who overcame Upperchurch Drombane in the Jim and Anne Kennedy Mid Tipperary Junior B Football Championship on Friday last. 
Under 16 Team
Following on from their success in the Semi Final Moycarkey Borris Under 16 Team will play Ballyporeen/Clonmel Commercials in the County Tipperary Under 16 A Football Championship Final on Saturday, July 15th at 1.30pm in Golden. All support would be appreciated.

Under 12 Team
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris Under 12 team who defeated JK Brackens in the Mid Tipperary Group 4 Hurling Championship.

Cul Camp
Moycarkey Borris hosted the Kellogg’s Cul Camp this week with large numbers in attendance and all free space in the club grounds was utilised. Well done to all the attendees who enjoyed a week of Hurling and Football. Thanks to Mary Shelly who coordinates the Cul Camp and to all who attended well done. 

County Tipperary Football Tournaments
County Tipperary competed in two Football Tournaments on Saturday last and brought home the silver from both. Congratulations to Kyle Shelly who represented Moycarkey Borris in the Jim Power (Under 15) Tournament while in the Johnny O’Donovan Cup (Under 16) Moycarkey Borris was represented by Kevin Hayes.

Moycarkey Borris Camogie and Ladies Football Club
Membership is now due for all members and forms are available from Helen Dowling or your manager. 

Under 17 Ladies Football Team
Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris Under 17 team who were defeated by St. Patrick’s in the Tipperary Ladies Football Under 17 Summer League on Wednesday last. Moycarkey Borris team - Dorrianne Kelly, Emma Dowling, Emma Shelly, Queva O’Meara, Saoirse O’Meara, Zoe O’Meara, Enya Maher, Siobhan Carroll and Lauryn O’Sullivan. 

Under 14 Ladies Football Team
Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris Under 14 team who were defeated by Fethard Ladies Football in the Tipperary Ladies Football Under 14 Summer League. 

Tipperary Ladies Football Intermediate Team
Congratulations to Catherina Walsh who represented Tipperary who became Munster Intermediate Champions on Saturday last in Mallow.

Information concerning Moycarkey Borris Clubs will appear in these notes. If you wish to include any item of interest, please contact us at before 8pm on SUNDAY. Visit the Moycarkey Borris web site at to keep up to date with all the latest news.