Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 10th October 2016

posted 11 Oct 2016, 13:47 by Michelle Donnelly
Intermediate Hurling
Moycarkey Borris Intermediate Hurling team were defeated by Cashel King Cormacs in the County Tipperary Intermediate Hurling Relegation game on Sunday last on a score line Cashel King Cormacs 1-22 Moycarkey Borris 0-13.
Moycarkey Borris team – Eamon Clohessy, Michael Cussen, Joe O’Sullivan, Mossy Bracken, Eric Fanning, Aidan Maher, Mattie Ryan, Ciaran Clohessy, John Kelly, Ciaran Cummins, John Bergin, Mikie Bergin, JJ Darmody, Eoghan Hayes, Robert Doran.
Subs used – Phil Kelly for Robert Doran, Tony Flanagan for JJ Darmody, Willie Dempsey for John Bergin, Ger Carey for John Kelly, Kevin O'Regan for Conor Cummins

Under 16 Hurling
Moycarkey-Borris retained the County Under 16 A Hurling title on Saturday last in Boherlahan following a 14 point victory over Toomevara. Moycarkey also completed the hurling / football double having captured the County Football title at this grade back in June.

Toomevara won the toss and elected to play with the assistance of the breeze in the opening half. However, it was Moycarkey-Borris who started the better side, scoring 1-4 in the first seven minutes, the goal coming courtesy of Max Hackett in the second minute. Toomevara got off the mark in the 11th minute with a pointed free by Kevin McCarthy but this made little difference to the general run of play.

Moycarkey-Borris continued their dominance and by the 18th minute, the lead had stretched out to 2-8 to 0-1, the second goal coming courtesy of Darren Flood who was causing all sorts of problems up front.

Toomevara didn’t get to this final by accident however and eventually, their play improved all over the pitch. Their good play eventually was rewarded when a Kenneth Ryan long range shot found the net for a somewhat fortuitous goal in the 24th minute. Four minutes later, Ciaran Grace finished off Toomevara’s second goal and by the interval, the lead had been reduced from 15 points down to just 6 – 2-10 to 2-4.

Half-time arrived at just the right moment for Moycarkey-Borris who regrouped and managed to begin the second half as they did the first, in dominant form. Three quick points were followed by a Diarmuid Maher goal who converted the rebound after Darren Flood’s original shot was excellently saved by the impressive Toomevara goalkeeper Connor Grace. This goal put Moycarkey in front by 12 points and effectively ended the game as a contest.

The final quarter saw goal chances aplenty for both teams but the respective goalkeepers, Rhys Shelly and Connor Grace kept their goals intact with some smart saves. The points kept flowing for Moycarkey-Borris with captain Jack Fallon in particular dominating possession and scoring 7 points, 6 from play before being replaced late on due to injury. By the finish, Moycarkey were most deserving winners following a display of skill, speed and a high tempo which Toomevara were unable to cope with. All of the Moycarkey-Borris forwards scored from play in the game which showed the balance of scores for the defending champions as opposed to a Toomevara team which managed just 2-4 from play in the entire game.

Afterwards, team captain Jack Fallon accepted the Colm Phelan cup from Colm’s parents in the presence of Tipperary Bord na nOg Chairman Tom Dawson.

Moycarkey Borris team - Rhys Shelly; Peter Melbourne, Tom Ryan, Kevin Hayes; Rory Darmody, Zach Jackson, Bill Maher; Jack Fallon (0-7, 0-1 free), Jack Morrissey; Kyle Shelly (0-1), John Kirwan (0-2), Max Hackett (1-3); Diarmuid Maher (1-3), Darren Flood (1-4, 0-2 frees), James Dillon (0-2)
Subs – Aidan Scott for Jack Fallon (58th), Conor Cummins for Peter Melbourne (58th)

Toomevara team - Connor Grace; Aidan White, Rory Brislane, Damien Bergin; Connor O'Farrell, Thomas O'Farrell, Darragh Spillane; Kevin McCarthy (0-8, 7 frees), Stephen Frend; Brian Troy (0-1), Jack Ryan (0-1), Eamon White; Mikey Delaney, Kenneth Ryan (1-1), Ciaran Grace (1-0)
Subs - Kieran Boyle, James Maher, Eoin Healy

Referee: Keith Delahunty (Moyle Rovers)

Under 13 Hurling
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris Under 13 team who overcame Boherlahan Dualla in the Under 13 Group 2 Shield Semi Final on Saturday last.

Club Newsletter
Preparations have commenced for the Moycarkey-Borris GAA Club Newsletter for 2016. Content for the Newsletter should be submitted to The deadline date has been extended to Friday, October 14th.

Safetalk Workshop
The Club will run a safeTALK Workshop on Saturday, November 26th. This is a half day training programme that prepares participants to identify persons with thoughts of suicide and connect them to suicide first aid resources. These specific skills are called suicide alertness and are taught with the expectation that the person learning them will use them to help reduce suicide risk in their communities. Anyone interested please contact either Michelle Donnelly 087 2422774 or Norah Maher 086 2473140.

County Board Draw
The sixth Tipperary GAA County Board Draw will be held on Friday, October 14th in Murphy’s Bar, Templemore. All promoters need to gather any outstanding monies and renew memberships for the Draw for 2016/2017. Thank you to all the members who support the County Board Draw and we look forward to your continued support.

Camogie and Ladies Football Club
Minor Ladies Football
Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris Minor team who were defeated by Mullinahone on Sunday last in the Tipperary Ladies Football Minor Championship Quarter Final.
Moycarkey Borris team – Megan Woodlock, Nicole Gleeson, Claire Ryan, Siobhan Carroll, Amy McGovern, Rachael Dowling, Tasha Tully, Breana O’Gorman, Saoirse O’Meara, Clodagh Fallon, Emily Walsh, Rachel Delaney, Kate Sheridan, Niamh Woodlock, Jessica Hayes, Emma Shelly, Emma Dowling

Under 14 Ladies Football
Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris Under 14 team who were defeated by Cahir on Sunday last in the Tipperary Ladies Football Under 14 Championship Semi Final.
Moycarkey Borris team – Amy Britton; Aoife Dunphy, Roisin Donnelly, Emma Dowling; Joan O'Keeffe, Enya Maher, Chloe Cummins; Queva O’Meara, Zoe O'Meara; Emma O'Sullivan, Emma Shelly, Lauryn O'Sullivan; Leah Walsh, Michelle Flanagan, Sophie Long.
Subs - Laura Costigan, Ciara Coffey, Kate Fitzgibbon, Maria Kennedy

Under 8
Moycarkey Borris Under 8 team attended their medal presentation on Wednesday evening last. Fr. Tom Fogarty presented each of the players with a medal and thanked them for their contribution and commitment throughout the year. Best wishes to all girls and we are looking forward to seeing them in 2017.