Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 12th September 2016

posted 12 Sep 2016, 14:44 by Michelle Donnelly
Intermediate Football
Moycarkey Borris will play Moyne Templetuohy in the AIB Thurles Mid Tipperary Intermediate Football Final in Holycross at 5.30pm on Saturday, September 17th.

Junior B Football
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris Junior B team who overcame Upperchurch Drombane in the Jim and Anne Kennedy Mid Tipperary Junior B Football Championship on Saturday last.

Minor A Hurling
Holycross-Ballycahill eased in to the Mid Minor A Hurling Final with a facile 26 point victory over Moycarkey-Borris at Boherlahan. Holycross played with the strong wind in the opening half and blitzed Moycarkey in the early stages with four points in the opening four minutes. When Darragh Woods struck a 20 metre free to the top of the net in the fifth minute, the writing was on the wall for Moycarkey and by the 10th minute, the score was 1-11 to 0-0 with wing-forward Darragh Woods contributing 1-7 of the 1-11 tally. Moycarkey were now employing a sweeper to lessen the damage being inflicted and this had an immediate impact as Holycross only added 1 point to their tally over the next 12 minutes. Meanwhile, Moycarkey got off the mark with a Jack Fallon point from play in the 15th minute.

Holycross were not to be denied for long however and soon the scoreboard began to ramp up at an alarming pace, as the leaders rattled off another 1-6 in the final 8 minutes of the first half with the solitary reply from Moycarkey being a pointed free from Anthony McKelvey to leave the half-time score – 2-18 to 0-2.

With the result not in doubt, Moycarkey looked to redeem some measure of respectability early in the second half as they now played with wind assistance. The early stages of the third quarter were promising as points from Jack Fallon and Anthony McKelvey (2) were matched by three Holycross points in the opening ten minutes of the second half. Any hopes of a sustained second half performance for Moycarkey evaporated in the 40th minute when Darragh Woods scored his second goal from a 20 metre free to put Holycross in to a 3-22 to 0-5 lead.

The tempo of the game dropped considerably from here and the teams shared the final 10 points as the game petered out to its inevitable conclusion – Holycross-Ballycahill 3-27 Moycarkey-Borris 0-10.

Moycarkey-Borris: Jack Bryan; Philip Ryan, Kieran Kearney, David O’Donnell; Sean O’Meara, Zach Jackson, Michael Murphy; Donal Fitzpatrick, John Cussen; Kevin O’Regan, Eoin Hayes, Jack Fallon (0-2); Darren Flood, Anthony McKelvey (0-7, 0-3 frees), John Kirwan
Subs; Caolin O’Brien for Kirwan (42m), Shane Maher (0-1) for Fitzpatrick (48m), Tom Ryan for Cussen (50m) and Mark Heffernan for Flood (56m)

Holycross-Ballycahill: Ewan Bourke; James Ryan, Philip Fogarty, Frank Hanafin; David Manning, Edward O’Gorman, Gavin Dunne (0-2); Bryan O’Mara (0-3), Fionn McCartan, Darragh Woods (2-16, 2-10 frees), Mikie Nally (0-1), Alex Murphy; Jack Dwan, Stephen Flanagan (0-4), David Croke (1-1)

Referee: Liam Shanahan (Upperchurch-Drombane)

Under 16 B Hurling
Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris Under 16 B Hurling team who were defeated by Upperchurch Drombane in the Mid Tipperary GAA Under 16 B Shield.

Under 11 Hurling
Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris Under 11 Group 1 Hurling team who were defeated by Durlas Og on Tuesday last while on Wednesday the Group 3 Hurling team met a stronger JK Brackens in Clonmore.

County Board Draw

The fifth Tipperary GAA County Board Draw was held on Friday night last. Although Moycarkey Borris had no winners on the night the club would encourage all promoters to gather any outstanding monies and renew memberships for the Draw for 2016/2017. Thank you to all the members who support the County Board Draw and we look forward to your continued support.

Camogie and Ladies Football Club
Under 12 Camogie Summer League Final
Congratulations to our Under 12 team who defeated Thurles in the Tipperary Camogie Under 12 Final in the Ragg Camogie Grounds on Tuesday last. This was a thriller with very little between the two sides, finishing at normal time in a draw. Extra time of five minutes a side was called for to separate the teams and Moycarkey successfully pointed twice to create the margin needed to win the Final.

Moycarkey Borris team – Michelle Flanagan, Grainne Stapleton, Clodagh Dunphy, Emma O’Sullivan, Rebecca Hogan, Sarah Sheridan, Amy Callanan, Aoibh Carroll, Alicia Kearney, Ellen Maher, Rachel Ralph, Kate Ralph, Caoimhe O’Sullivan, Molly O’Dwyer, Aimee Slattery, Shauna Flanagan, Ellie Darmody, Kate O’Keeffe, Lucy O’Keeffe and Orlaith Ryan.

Under 14 Ladies Football
Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris Under 14's who were defeated by Cahir in the Tipperary Ladies Football Under 14 Championship.
Moycarkey Borris team – Amy Britton; Maria Kennedy, Roisin Donnelly, Aoife Dunphy; Joan O’Keeffe, Enya Maher, Emma Dowling; Emma Shelly, Queva O'Meara; Chloe Cummins, Zoe O’Meara, Leah Walsh; Lauryn O’Sullivan, Sophie Long, Sarah Hayes. Subs: Kate Fitzgibbon, Ciara Coffey, Zoe McKenna and Eva Morrissey

Under 10 Ladies Football
Some of our Under 10 girls travelled to Passage West, Cork on Saturday last to participate in an Under 10 blitz organised by Passage West ladies football club. 102 teams took part in the U8/U10 event. Our Under 10’s got to play four teams, 3 from Cork and 1 from Kerry, where the girls performed very well. A great day out was had by all. Thanks to all our parents who travelled to support.