Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 15th May 2017

posted 16 May 2017, 10:18 by Michelle Donnelly
O'Mahoney Print Mid Tipperary Junior Hurling League Div 1
Moycarkey Borris were due to play their first round in the O'Mahoney Print Mid Tipperary Junior Hurling League Div 1 against Upperchurch Drombane on Saturday last. Upperchurch Drombane conceded the game so Moycarkey Borris progress through the Final.

Joe O'Sullivan Bus and Cab Hire Mid Tipperary Minor A Football Championship Final
Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris who were defeated by JK Brackens Óg in the Joe O'Sullivan Bus and Cab Hire Mid Tipperary Minor A Championship Final on Friday last. Littleton was the venue for the Final and supporters were treated to a great game of football. The half time score of Moycarkey Borris 2-3 JK Brackens Óg 0-6 meant JK Brackens Óg had some work to do in the second half which they did and the game finished Moycarkey Borris 2-9 JK Brackens 1-12 after normal time with extra time to be played. The scoring in extra time was tight but JK Brackens Óg outscored their opponents by four points to two in the extra period to take the title, JK Brackens Óg 1-16 Moycarkey Borris 2-11.
Moycarkey-Borris team: Rhys Shelly; David O’Donnell, Kieran Kearney (C), Rory Darmody; Tom Ryan (0-1), Zach Jackson, Kevin Hayes (0-1); Jack Hackett (1-1), Bill Maher; Max Hackett (0-1), James Dillon (0-2), Darren Flood; Diarmuid Maher, Anthony McKelvey (1-3), Mark Heffernan.
Moycarkey-Borris subs: Shane Maher for Diarmuid Maher, Kyle Shelly (0-2) for Mark Heffernan, Caolan O’Brien for Tom Ryan, Peter Melbourne for David O’Donnell.

Troy Marketing Mid Tipperary Under 16 Football Championship
Boherlahan was the venue for Troy Marketing Mid Tipperary Under 16 A Championship Football Final on Tuesday evening last with Moycarkey Borris and local rivals, Durlas Óg competing for the title.
The game began with an intensity which showed on the scoreboard and both sides had points on the score board within minutes. By the fifth minute Moycarkey registered the lead and although the first half was close with a tit for tat point scoring, Moycarkey maintained the lead building on it in with three points in the closing minutes of the first half to go in at half time - Moycarkey Borris 0-6 Durlas Óg 0-3.
Moycarkey Borris re-entered the field for the second half with a new intensity and had four points on the scoreboard before Durlas Óg registered their first in the thirty eighth minute. Moycarkey’s purple patch did not end there but continued throughout the half and they added a further eight points to the scoreline while Durlas Óg only added a late consolation goal which did little only enhance their score line. The final score Moycarkey Borris 0-18 Durlas Óg 1-4.
Goals evaded Moycarkey Borris in this game but it was not for trying as they had missed goal chances in the second half with the posts being the main offenders. This was Moycarkey Borris’s fourth time to win this competition and this year Peter Melbourne, Captain accepted the Cup from Mid Bord Na nÓg Chairman, Martin Bourke on behalf of the team. He thanked Durlas Óg for the game while also, acknowledged the Management team. The county Semi Final against Inane Rovers is fixed for Saturday, June 24th.
Moycarkey Borris scorers – Kyle Shelly 0-8 (4 frees), Max Hackett 0-4, Kevin Hayes 0-3, Jack Morrissey 0-1, Tom Maher 0-1, Jack Fitzgerald 0-1.
Moycarkey Borris team – Caylum Cooney; Michael O’Donnell, Peter Melbourne, Owen Sheridan; Kyle Ryan, Darren Flood, Brian O’Callaghan; Kevin Hayes, Jack Morrissey; Lewis Kearney, Max Hackett, Shane Burke; John Coffey, Kyle Shelly, Tom Maher.
Moycarkey Borris subs – Dylan Shaw for Shane Burke (injured – 25th); Jack Fitzgerald for Tom Maher (46th); Liam Hayes for John Coffey (52nd); Liam McDonagh for Michael O’Donnell (52nd); Jack O’Dwyer for Owen Sheridan (57th).
Durlas Óg Team – Darragh Stakelum; Dean Fanning, Patrick Stakelum, Conor Stapleton; Henry Fogarty, Kieran Costello, Jordan Fahey; Paddy Creedon, Cian Stakelum; Joe Dwan, Cathal Hayes, Conor Fogarty; Eoin Purcell, Jack Lanigan, James Armstrong.
Durlas Óg Panel – Oisin O’Brien, Sean Collins, Jack Kelly, Luke Fogarty, Eoghan Ryan, David Mawe, Peter Wall, Liam McCormack, Emmet Fogarty.

Senior Club Meeting

The Senior Club will hold their next meeting on Thursday, May 18th in the Club rooms at 9.30pm. All members are welcome to attend.

Mid/North Tipperary
Congratulations to Mid/North Tipperary who defeated Offaly on Wednesday last in the Celtic Challenge (U17) on a score line of Mid/North Tipperary 2-17 Offaly 0-12. Moycarkey Borris were represented by Rhys Shelly, Zach Jackson, Diarmuid Maher, Bill Maher, Tom Ryan, Rory Darmody, John Kirwan and Selector, Dermot Maher.

Tipperary Primary Game
Congratulations to Stephen Walsh, Two Mile Borris NS who is listed on the Tipperary Team for the Primary Game on Sunday, May 21st. He will play at half time of the Munster Senior Hurling Championship Tipperary v Cork in Semple Stadium and Bill Maher, Moycarkey Borris will referee the game.

Moycarkey Borris Camogie and Ladies Football Club
Membership is now due for all members and forms are available from Helen Dowling or your manager.

Information concerning Moycarkey Borris Clubs will appear in these notes. If you wish to include any item of interest, please contact us at before 8pm on SUNDAY. Visit the Moycarkey Borris web site at to keep up to date with all the latest news.