Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 18th July 2016

posted 18 Jul 2016, 15:28 by Michelle Donnelly
Senior Hurling
Moycarkey-Borris bowed out of the Centenary Agri Mid Tipperary Senior Championship on Sunday last in Boherlahan when they were defeated by Loughmore Castleiney.

The game opened with both teams playing very tight and it was the fifth minute before the first pointed free of the game for John McGrath, Loughmore and Rory O’Regan replied with a point for Moycarkey. Loughmore scored three more points before a shot set up by John McGrath and tapped into the goal mouth by Noel McGrath raised the green flag for Loughmore on the tenth minute. Pat Ralph pointed two frees for Moycarkey before the first quarter finished, Loughmore 1-4 Moycarkey 0-3. The teams traded two more points each and Niall Heffernan’s point in the twenty first minute meant it was just the goal between the sides. Another four points were added to each teams score line to go in at half time Loughmore 1-10 Moycarkey 0-10.

The second half opened with four points for Loughmore before John McGrath won a short puck out from Moycarkey’s Bill McCormack and he rattled the net to record Loughmore’s second goal on the thirty fifth minute. Loughmore scored another four points before Niall Heffernan pointed for Moycarkey. In the forty first minute Noel McGrath raised the green flag for Loughmore stretching the margin to sixteen points. The sides traded points again before Niall Heffernan pointed for Moycarkey but Liam McGrath increased the deficit with another goal just before the final quarter. Moycarkey added a further two points to Loughmore’s three before Kieran Morris raised a green flag from a 20 metre free. There was an addition of two further points apiece before the final whistle, Loughmore 4-24 Moycarkey 1-16

Moycarkey Borris Team – Bill McCormack; Paul Dempsey, James Power, Gerry McGuire; Pat Molloy, Rory Ryan, Kevin Moran; Chris McCullagh (0-1), Rory O’Regan (0-1); Tom Hayes, Conor Hayes, Pat Carey (0-1); Pat Ralph (0-7 (0-7 frees)), Kieran Morris (1-2 (0-1 free)), Niall Heffernan (0-3)
Subs Used – James O’Gorman (0-1) for Tom Hayes (38th), Anthony Healy for Gerry McGuire (45th), Brian Moran for Paul Dempsey (51st)

Loughmore-Castleiney Team – Shane Nolan; Lorcan Egan, Derek Bourke, Willie Eviston; Brian McGrath, Aidan McGrath, John Meagher; Ciaran McGrath, Tomás McGrath; John McGrath (1-11, 0-10 frees), Liam Treacy (0-1), Noel McGrath (2-3); Liam McGrath (1-5), Bill O’Connell (0-2), Cian Hennessy (0-1).

Minor Hurling
Moycarkey-Borris were defeated by Na Sairsealaigh Og in the Mid Tipperary Minor A Hurling Championship on Wednesday last and will compete against Holycross Ballycahill this Wednesday, July 20th at 7.30pm in Holycross.

Under 14
Commiserations to our Under 14 team who were defeated by JK Brackens in the Mid Tipperary Under 14 A Hurling Championship Quarter Final.

Under 12
Commiserations to our Under 12 Group 1 team who were narrowly defeated by Holycross Ballycahill in the Semi Final on Tuesday last. It was a very competitive game with two very good teams.

Best wishes to our Group 4 team who will compete against Holycross Ballycahill on Tuesday, July 19th in Littleton at 7.00pm.

Senior Club Meeting
Moycarkey Borris GAA Club will hold their monthly meeting on Thursday, July 28th at 9.00pm in the clubrooms.

Senior and Juvenile Club Membership 2016 – Notice of Closure
Club Membership is closing on the 30th of July 2016 and for the small number of persons (adult & juvenile) who have not paid their membership, they have until then to do so. Those who have not paid their membership by the deadline are not members of the club for 2016.

Camogie and Ladies Football Club
Lidl Ireland are running an in-store competition inviting shoppers to nominate their club to receive a cash prize of €1,000. The overall winners being decided on who receives the most nominations. We would encourage all Lidl shoppers to nominate Moycarkey Borris Camogie & Ladies Football Club when they are in shopping.

Moycarkey Borris Camogie & Ladies Football Club have been selected as one of the sporting clubs in the Tesco Community Fund. Every time you shop in your local Tesco store in Thurles, you will receive a token of goodwill to place in the donation box of Moycarkey Borris. After six weeks, the number of tokens are counted and up to €1,000 is distributed proportionally between three local causes. The more tokens we enter the larger share of the donation we will receive. Please support.

Junior Ladies Football
The Junior team were defeated by Thurles Sarsfields in the Tipperary Ladies Football Junior A Championship.

Under 16 Camogie Summer League
Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris Under 16 team who were defeated by Fethard in the Tipperary Under 16 Camogie Summer League.

Under 13 Camogie Summer League
On Monday, July 11th Moycarkey Borris defeated Arravale Rovers in the Tipperary Camogie Summer League to secure their place in a Quarter Final which was played on Friday, July 15th in Littleton. Their opponents in the Quarter Final was Ballybacon Grange who they defeated; Moycarkey Borris 3-5 Ballybacon Grange 1-1. They now look forward to the Semi Final against Kiladangan which will be played on Saturday, July 23rd at 3.00pm in the Ragg Camogie Grounds.

Under 12 Ladies Football
Congratulations to the Moycarkey Borris Under 12 team who defeated Slieve Felim Rapparees in the Tipperary Ladies Football Under 12 Summer League.

Under 12 Camogie Blitz
On Saturday our Under 12 team travelled to Fethard to play in a Camogie Blitz playing Rockwell Rovers and Fethard.

Under 8
Our Under 8 team travelled to the Ragg Camogie Grounds on Saturday last to take part in a Tipperary Camogie Blitz. They played 3 matches on the day competing against Cahir and Moneygall.
Moycarkey Borris Players – Eva Ralph, Grace Flanagan, Hannah Hogan, Anna Maxwell, Laura Kennedy, Jennifer Kelly, Isobel Kelly, Danielle Moore, Ruby O’Dwyer, Ella Lee, Courtney O’Halloran, Molly O’Keeffe, Sadbh McGrath.

Tipperary Intermediate Camogie
Congratulations to Michaella Graham who captained the Tipperary Intermediate Camogie Team to Munster Championship success.