Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 19th September 2016

posted 19 Sep 2016, 11:26 by Michelle Donnelly
Intermediate Football
The AIB Thurles Mid Intermediate Football Final was held in Holycross on Saturday last with only two teams in the competition it was a straight Final Moycarkey Borris and Moyne Templetuohy in ideally autumnal conditions.

John Hassett, Moyne Templetuohy was the first to get a point in the second minute but a quick reply from Moycarkey’s midfielder Pat Carey in the third minute equalised the game. In the following ten minutes, the next four points of the game came from Moyne’s Odhran Lloyd; one from a 45 and the other three resulting from frees in Moycarkey back area as their defence battled hard against Moyne. For the next quarter Moycarkey settled more into the game and Moyne just managed to get two points, one of which was a shot which was lucky to hit the upright and rebound back in between the posts. The final score of the half went to Moycarkey’s Rory Ryan as the teams finished Moyne Templetuohy 0-7 Moycarkey Borris 0-2.

The intensity that Moyne showed in the first half had declined and the game ebbed and flowed from end to end. The first two points of the second half was for Moyne’s Odhran Lloyd with Tomás Hassett getting the third in the forty seventh minute. The margin had increased to eight points and the ninth was to come from Tom Meade in the fifty second minute. Both teams battled hard but Moycarkey for the final eight minutes set about regaining some of the deficit with a point from Rory Ryan in the fifty third minute which was followed in the next minute with a point from Tony Flanagan. The teams subsequently traded points before the final point of the game went to Rory Ryan. Moyne Templetuohy 0-12 Moycarkey Borris 0-6.

Moycarkey team - Daniel Kirby; Joe O’Sullivan, Paul Dempsey, Brian Moran; Kevin Moran, Christopher McCullagh, Pat Molloy; Pat Carey, Conor Hayes (Captain); Pat Ralph, Rory Ryan, Niall Heffernan; Michael Foley, Tony Flanagan, Niall O’Sullivan.
Scorers – Rory Ryan 0-3, Tony Flanagan 0-2, Pat Carey 0-1

Moyne Templetuohy team – Pat Meade; Joe Grady, Robert Larkin, David Lowe; Pierce Meade, Conor Quinlan, John Coghlan; Tomás Hassett, Niall Russell (Captain); Tom Meade, John Hassett, Diarmuid Fogarty; Louis Everard, Odhran Lloyd, Martin Kelly
Scorers – Odhran Lloyd 0-7 (4 frees), Tom Meade 0-2, John Hassett 0-1, Tomás Hassett 0-1, Martin Kelly 0-1

Referee – Tom McGrath

Junior B Football
Boherlahan Dualla are Moycarkey Borris’s opponents in the Jim and Anne Kennedy Mid Tipp Junior B Football Championship Semi-Final on Sunday, September 25th at 12 in Littleton.

Under 16 B Hurling
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris Under 16 B Hurling team who defeated Upperchurch Drombane in the Mid Tipperary GAA Under 16 B Shield Semi Final on Friday night last.

Under 13 Hurling
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris Under 13’s who defeated Gortnahoe-Glengoole in the Under 13 Group 2 Shield on Monday, September 12th.

Under 11 Hurling
It was a successful week for Moycarkey Borris Under 11’s recording two wins on Tuesday and Wednesday night last. On Tuesday last the Group 1 team overcame Holycross Ballycahill in the Mid Tipperary Under 11 Group 1 Shield. The team now look forward to Semi Final on Monday, September 19th in Templemore with JK Brackens as their opponents.

The Group 3 team defeated Durlas Óg in the Mid Tipperary Under 11 Group 3 Shield on Wednesday last and they have their final group game on Tuesday, September 20th at 6.15pm against Thurles Gaels in Kickham Park.

Senior Club Meeting
There will be a meeting of the Senior Club committee on Wednesday, September 28th in the Clubrooms at 9.00pm. All club members are invited to attend.

Camogie and Ladies Football Club
Under 14 Ladies Football

Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris Under 14's who were defeated by St. Pat’s in the Tipperary Ladies Football Under 14 Championship.
Moycarkey Borris team – Emma Shelly; Aoife Dunphy, Roisin Donnelly, Ciara Coffey; Emma Dowling, Queva O'Meara, Joan O'Keeffe; Enya Maher, Zoe O'Meara; Leah Walsh, Chloe Cummins, Lauryn O'Sullivan; Laura Costigan, Maria Kennedy, Eva Morrissey. Subs - Emma O'Sullivan, Sophie Long, Michelle Flanagan, Orlaith Ryan, Zoe McKenna

Under 10 Camogie

Moycarkey Borris travelled to Borrisoleigh on Saturday to take part in the Tomas Max Memorial tournament, a 12-a-side camogie competition. Our first match against a strong Holycross team was very tight and with only a goal dividing the teams at the final whistle. It was Moycarkey who progressed to the final against Thurles Sarsfields. We proved too strong for the Thurles girls on the day and were the winners of the tournament. Thank you to Borrisoleigh and the Max family for hosting.

Under 10 Ladies Football

Moycarkey Borris travelled with two teams to Rockwell College on Sunday to take part in a County Ladies Football blitz. Each team got to play 3 competitive matches. Thanks to Ed Burke, Tipperary Ladies Football for organising.

Under 8 Camogie
Our Under 8’s made the journey to Thurles for a Camogie Blitz on Saturday last. The girls had an early start but with three games to play, they had a great day.
Moycarkey Borris panel - Sadhbh McGrath, Erin Flanagan, Ella Lee, Anna Maxwell, Sarah Carroll, Kourtney O’Halloran, Laura Kennedy, Eva Ralph.