Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 20th March 2017

posted 21 Mar 2017, 12:23 by Michelle Donnelly
2016 Cahill Cup Final
Although the final was carried over from last year that did not matter on the field of play on Sunday last. This game had everything a final should have and supporters were not disappointed.

The scoring started in the first minute with a point for Tommy Maher, Loughmore Castleiney. Points were traded in the third minute and Moycarkey Borris hit a purple patch with four points from Pat Ralph, Kieran Morris (2), Pat Molloy before Cian Hennessy pointed for Loughmore. In the following five minutes frees were crucial to the scoring and Moycarkey’s, Pat Ralph registered two to Loughmore’s single free by John McGrath. Entering the next quarter Moycarkey had a three point margin but this always looked unstable and a point from Tomás McGrath in the sixteenth reduced it. Moycarkey had the next two points in the eighteenth minute from James Bourke and Conor Hayes. Loughmore’s McGrath brothers, Noel and John concluded their scoring with two further points. But the last score in injury time set Moycarkey up with a good half time advantage, a goal from Tom Hayes. Moycarkey Borris 1-9 Loughmore Castleiney 0-7.

Moycarkey Borris opened the scoring in the second half with a Pat Ralph free and Loughmore replied with a free of their own in the thirty eighth minute. Tensions had risen in the game and Loughmore’s next two scores were from John McGrath frees. As the final fifteen minutes commenced it was the goal which separated the teams. A pointed 65 from Pat Ralph gave Moycarkey a further cushion but as the game entered the final ten minutes Moycarkey’s David Morris was substituted as he was injured. In the fifty third minute John McGrath nullified Pat Ralph’s 65 with a free. Moycarkey had a further blow when Michael Cussen was substituted with an injury. Points were traded soon after before Kevin Jordan blew for full time, Moycarkey Borris 1-12 Loughmore Castleiney 0-12.

Afterwards, Mid Board Chairman Joe Kennedy presented the cup to Moycarkey-Borris captain James Power and congratulated all involved on a great game of hurling.

Moycarkey Borris team – Bill McCormack; Kieran Cummins, James Power (C), Michael Cussen; Kevin Moran, Tom Hayes (1-0 sideline cut), Pat Molloy (0-1); Chris McCullagh, James Bourke (0-2); Pat Carey, Rory Ryan (0-1), David Morris; Pat Ralph (0-5, 3 frees, 2 65), Conor Hayes (0-1), Kieran Morris (0-2).
Subs used – Tomas Bracken for Pat Carey (46th), Philip Kelly for David Morris (51st, injured), Daniel Kirby for Michael Cussen (57th, injured)
Loughmore Castleiney scorers – John McGrath (0-7, 6 frees), Noel McGrath (0-2, 1 free), Tomás McGrath (0-1), Tommy Maher (0-1), Cian Hennessy (0-1).

Under 21
Moycarkey Borris commenced their Horse & Jockey Kia Mid Tipperary Under 21 B Championship in Drombane against their hosts on St. Patrick’s Day. Conditions were very poor with a heavy ground and a thick mist blowing at an angle across the field.

Points were traded in the first five minutes before Jack Butler netted the ball for Upperchurch in the sixth minute. Loughlin Ryan registered another point from a free before Moycarkey’s Chris McCullagh pointed. The next two points were for Upperchurch from Loughlin Ryan and Jack Butler respectively before Moycarkey’s Anthony McKelvey scored a point from a ’65 in the 16th minute, Upperchurch Drombane 1-4 Moycarkey Borris 0-3. In the next fifteen minutes, scores were at a premium as both teams battled hard to keep the ball from their opponent’s forwards. Moycarkey managed two pointed frees by Anthony McKelvey while Gavin Ryan looked after Upperchurch’s single point to leave the half time score Upperchurch Drombane 1-5 Moycarkey Borris 0-5.

Moycarkey had not used the breeze to its best advantage in the first half and had it all to do in the second half but Upperchurch’s Patrick Burke was the first to the scoreboard with a point. Points were traded around the thirty fourth minute and again the ball ebbed and flowed for the next twelve minutes before Anthony McKelvey pointed a free for Moycarkey leaving the goal the margin again. As the game entered the final ten minutes Upperchurch’s Loughlin Ryan added two further points and Moycarkey turned its concentration to scoring a goal. In the fifty seventh minute Anthony McKelvey had his free deflected over the bar by Upperchurch to register a point. Two minutes later, McKelvey was rewarded with a green flag to reduce the deficit to a solitary point. In the closing stages, Patrick Burke raised a green flag for Upperchurch and this brought the game to a close, Upperchurch Drombane 2-9 Moycarkey Borris 1-8.

Moycarkey-Borris Team – Rhys Shelly; Pat Whelan, Kieran Cummins, Kieran Kearney; Eoghan Hayes, Tom Hayes, Mikie Bergin; Chris McCullagh (0-1), Eric Fanning; Rory Darmody, Niall Heffernan, Joe Doran; Anthony McKelvey (1-7; 6 frees, 1 65), Tomas Darmody, Kevin O’Regan.
Subs used – JJ Darmody for Pat Whelan (h/t), John Cussen for Tomas Darmody (48th)

Upperchurch-Drombane Team – Conor Ryan; Denis Ryan, Toby Clancy, Eanna Ryan; Jason Jordan, Dean Carew, Ronan Gleeson; Gavin Ryan (0-1), Jack Butler (1-2); Michael Lavery, Niall Grant (0-1), Conor Fahey; Oran Cullan Gildea, Loughlin Ryan (0-4), Patrick Burke (1-1).

Under 14 Feile Peil
Moycarkey Borris earned a replay with Drom and Inch in the Feile Peil Semi Final when the teams could not be separated on the night and the replay was played on Thursday last in Littleton. The game started well for Drom and Inch going in at half time with a score line; Drom and Inch 4-3 Moycarkey Borris 1-2. But with a remarkable team effort Moycarkey were victorious on the night with a single point to spare, Moycarkey Borris 4-5 Drom and Inch 4-4.

Under 12

Well done to Moycarkey Borris who drew Holycross Ballycahill in the Mid Tipperary GAA Under 12 Group 1 Football Championship on a score line Moycarkey Borris 2-8 Holycross Ballycahill 4-2.

County Board Draw
Moycarkey Borris will welcome the County Board Draw to Bannon’s, Two Mile Borris on Friday, April 7th at 10pm. Congratulations to Willie Dempsey who won first prize a Renault Car or €15,000 while promoter Tim Kelly will be awarded with his €500 winnings. As the year is drawing to a close it is very important for all members to get the accounts paid up.

Membership for the 2017 season is now open and can be paid to Senior Club Registrars Kieran Morris or James Power or Senior Club Secretary, Michelle McKelvey or Juvenile Club Registrar Mary Shelly. The membership rates are as follows - Juvenile (Single) Player - €30; Minor (Single) Player - €30; Adult (Single) Player - €50; Family (2 Adults / 2 Boys*) - €70 (Note: Each additional boy is €15); Non-Player / Mentors - €40.

Moycarkey Borris Camogie and Ladies Football Club

Moycarkey Borris Camogie and Ladies Football Club held their Annual Cake Sale on Friday last. Thanks to all who baked and donated to the Cake Sale. The Cake Sale was well attended and free tea and coffee made it an enjoyable day. We would like to acknowledge the business who supported the raffle and Cake Sale. Well done to the organisers and helpers who made the event a huge success.