Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 22nd May 2017

posted 23 May 2017, 14:08 by Michelle Donnelly
2017 Cahill Cup Quarter-Final 
Moycarkey-Borris 2-18 Holycross-Ballycahill 1-23
By Ed Donnelly
Defending champions Moycarkey-Borris bowed out of the Cahill Cup at the Quarter-Final stage on Tuesday last by virtue of a two-point defeat at the hands of neighbours Holycross-Ballycahill at Littleton.
Holycross had the aid of the wind in the opening half but it was Moycarkey who made the better start. Anthony McKelvey accounted for Moycarkey’s first two points and in the ninth minute, McKelvey set up Kieran Morris for a well worked goal and the home side led 1-3 to 0-2. By the end of the first quarter, the sides had added two points each before Holycross took over completely. 
During a ten-minute purple patch, Holycross hit 7 points on the trot and by the interval, Holycross had turned a 4 point deficit in to a 3 point interval lead – 0-12 to 1-6. 
Moycarkey’s play on the resumption improved and the home side drew level within five minutes thanks to unanswered points from Kieran Morris (2) and Pat Ralph. Holycross edged in front again as the game entered the final quarter before another purple patch saw the visitors scoring 1-3 without reply from the 45th to 50th minute to take control of the game, leading by 1-18 to 1-11. 
Moycarkey however responded in the best possible way and four unanswered points from Rory Ryan (2), Mossy Bracken and Kieran Morris brought their side back in to contention. When a Kieran Morris goalbound shot took a deflection and ended up in the net, the sides were level with three minutes of normal time remaining. 
Rather than push on to victory, it was Holycross who took back the imitative and four points in four minutes left Moycarkey needing a goal to salvage a draw. Moycarkey did add on two points in injury time but it was too little, too late and Holycross ran out deserving two point winners. 
Moycarkey Borris team – Bill McCormack; Kieran Cummins, James Power (C), Michael Cussen; Daniel Kirby, Kevin Moran, James Bourke; Mossy Bracken (0-1), Conor Hayes; Matty Ryan, Pat Ralph (0-2), Pat Carey; Rory Ryan (0-3), Kieran Morris (2-9, 0-7 frees), Anto McKelvey (0-2)
Subs used – Paul Dempsey for Cummins (26m), Gerry Maguire for Matty Ryam (42m), Phil Kelly (0-1 free) for Carey (43m), Eric Fanning for Bourke (51m), Timmy Ryan for Ralph (56m)

"Tipperary Water" County Senior Hurling Division (2) (Group 1) 
Moycarkey Borris will play Templederry Kenyons in the next round of the “Tipperary Water” County Senior Hurling on Saturday, May 27th at 7.30pm in The Ragg.

O'Mahoney Print Mid Tipperary Junior Hurling League Div 1 
Moycarkey Borris will play Holycross Ballycahill in the O'Mahoney Print Mid Tipperary Junior Hurling League Div 1 Semi Final on Sunday, June 4th at 7pm.

Second review of Club Development Plan
At a recent club meeting Laurenz Egan, Chairperson of the Club Development Plan presented the second review of the Plan. He highlighted how all aspects of the plan are going well with the majority of the plan near completion with three years left to go. Despite a delay in the commencement of the building construction the Club are still committed and well on schedule to see the Development complete on time.

County Board Draw
The Tipperary GAA County Board Draw is due to commence in the upcoming weeks. Renewal notices about the draw are being sent in the post over the approaching week. The club is encouraging all promoters to gather any outstanding monies so that the Draw for 2016/2017 will represent a new year. Thank you to all the members who support the County Board Draw and we look forward to your continued support. 

Mid/North Tipperary
Congratulations to Mid/North Tipperary who defeated Laois on Wednesday last in the Celtic Challenge (U17) on a score line of Mid/North Tipperary 5-21 Laois 1-4. Moycarkey Borris were represented by Rhys Shelly, Zach Jackson, Diarmuid Maher, Bill Maher, Tom Ryan, Rory Darmody, John Kirwan and Selector, Dermot Maher. 

Under 14 Football Championship
Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris who were defeated by Drom and Inch in the Mid Tipperary Under 14 Football Championship Semi Final tonight.

Under 8 Football Blitz
Well done to Moycarkey Borris Under 8 team who played in a Football Blitz in Dr Morris Park on Saturday last.

Tipperary Primary Game
Congratulations to Stephen Walsh, Two Mile Borris NS who played on the Tipperary Team for the Primary Game on Sunday last at half time of the Munster Senior Hurling Championship Tipperary v Cork in Semple Stadium and Bill Maher, Moycarkey Borris refereed the game. 

Moycarkey Borris Camogie and Ladies Football Club
Membership is now due for all members and forms are available from Helen Dowling or your manager. 

Junior Ladies Football
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris who defeated Thurles Sarsfields in the Tipperary Ladies Football Junior A Football Championship on a score line Moycarkey Borris 4-6 Thurles Sarsfields 2-11. On Wednesday night they met a much stronger Fethard in the same competition.
Moycarkey Borris panel - Megan Woodlock, Karen Mullins, Maeve Hackett, Aishling Brennan, Siobhan Carroll, Marie Kinnane, Rachael Dowling, Breana O’Gorman, Saoirse O’Meara, Marianne Murphy, Catherina Walsh, Rachel Delaney, Claire Ryan, Lisa Power, Zoe O’Meara, Emma Dowling, Emma Shelly, Laura Ralph, Clodagh Fallon. 

Information concerning Moycarkey Borris Clubs will appear in these notes. If you wish to include any item of interest, please contact us at before 8pm on SUNDAY. Visit the Moycarkey Borris web site at to keep up to date with all the latest news.