Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 24th October 2016

posted 24 Oct 2016, 13:10 by Michelle Donnelly
Under 16 B Shield Final 
The replay of the Mid Tipperary Under 16 B Hurling Shield Final took place on Saturday last in Boherlahan. In the drawn game, although Moycarkey Borris had a four point lead at half time they were fortunate to score two points, one free in the final minutes to equalise the game. 
Dylan O’Shaughnessy, Thurles Gaels opened the scoring in the second minute with a point. John Coffey in the fourth minute rattled the net for Moycarkey Borris and Thurles Gaels, Oscar Lipinski and Chris Munroe scored two unanswered points to enter the next quarter on level terms. Both teams had been battling hard but up to now very little separated the sides. Moycarkey’s next scores came from John Coffey and Ciaran Kirwan (free) in the sixteenth and nineteenth minute. The goals evaded Moycarkey as they had four chances that were missed in the first half while in the final ten minutes of the half Thurles Gaels scored an unanswered one goal and four points. Thurles Gaels 1-7 Moycarkey Borris 1-2 

The second half commenced with a goal from Chris Munroe, Thurles Gaels but in the thirty fifth minute Ciaran Kirwan raised the green flag for Moycarkey Borris. In reply Martin Reilly pointed a free for the Gaels. The game ebbed and flowed for end to end with both sets of defenders working hard to keep their goalmouths free. Liam McDonagh, Moycarkey Borris was the goalkeeper working hardest throughout the game, pulling off some great saves but in the forty third minute the sliothar passed the line for a Thurles Gaels goal. In the fifty fifth minute Daniel Brown hit a high ball into the forwards and Andrew Alexander’s hurley tapped the ball into the goal mouth for the final score of the game, Thurles Gaels 3-8 Moycarkey Borris 3-2

Moycarkey Borris team – Liam McDonagh; Owen Sheridan, Paudie O’Gorman, Lewis Kearney; Daniel Brown, Dylan Shaw, Michael Maher; Brian O’Callaghan, Bill Hackett; Ben O’Dwyer, Ciaran Kirwan (1-1, 1 free), Shane Bourke; John Coffey (1-1), Brendan Looby, Pat Hackett. 
Subs used – Jack Fitzgerald for Ben O’Dwyer (h/t), Tom Maher for Brendan Looby (37th), Andrew Alexander (1-0) for Owen Sheridan (41st), Bill Gleeson for Michael Maher (50th), Liam Hayes for John Coffey (50th)

Thurles Gaels – Eoghan Cleary; Robert Donoghue, Shaun Kennedy, Cillian Donaghy; Aaron Cooke, Shane Ryan, Shane Stapleton; Oscar Lipinski (0-2), Martin Reilly (0-3, 3 frees); Dylan O’Shaughnessy (0-1), Paraic Loughnane (1-0), Dylan Molumby; Cian Gleeson, Chris Munroe (1-1), Jack Murphy (0-1). 18 (1-0)

Referee – Donal Leahy

Under 21 Hurling
Moycarkey Borris will JK Brackens in the Donal and Rose Younge Mid Tipperary U21A Hurling Losers Group Semi Final on Saturday, October 29th at 4.00pm in Littleton.

Mid Tipperary Scór na nÓg 
The Mid Tipperary Scór na nÓg will take place in Moyne Hall on Saturday, November 26th at 7.30pm. The categories for Scór are Novelty Act, Rince Foirne, Rince Seit, Solo Singing, Ballad Singing, Recitation, Instrumental Music and Quiz. If anyone is interested in taking part in the Scór na nÓg, contact Helen Dowling, Irish & Cultural Officer.

Medal Presentation
Moycarkey Borris Juvenile GAA Club will hold their Medal Presentation on Saturday, November 19th in Muintir na Tire Hall. All are welcome.

Safetalk Workshop
The Club will run a safeTALK Workshop on Saturday, November 26th in Muintir na Tire Hall. This is a half day training programme that prepares participants to identify persons with thoughts of suicide and connect them to suicide first aid resources. These specific skills are called suicide alertness and are taught with the expectation that the person learning them will use them to help reduce suicide risk in their communities. Anyone interested please contact either Michelle Donnelly 087 2422774 or Norah Maher 086 2473140.