Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 26th June 2017

posted 27 Jun 2017, 13:30 by Michelle Donnelly
"Tipperary Water" County Hurling League, Division (2) (Group 1)
Moycarkey-Borris travelled to play Ballingarry in the County Hurling League on Sunday last. Ballingarry played with the aid of the wind in the first half but it was Moycarkey who started better with points by Kieran Morris (free) and Paul Dempsey putting the visitors in front by 0-2 to 0-1 after five minutes. Eventually, Ballingarry took a grip on the game and scored the next five points to race in to a 0-6 to 0-2 lead at the end of the first quarter. The second quarter was more even, as Kieran Morris kept Moycarkey in touch with four pointed frees. As the wide count for Ballingarry increased, the half-time score of 0-9 to 0-6 in Ballingarry’s favour was not insurmountable.

Moycarkey and Ballingarry shared the first six scores of the second half before Moycarkey reeled off three points without reply from Kieran Morris (2) and Mossy Bracken to level the scores at 0-12 apiece entering the final quarter. Dylan Walsh put Ballingarry in front soon afterwards before Paul Dempsey equalising for Moycarkey in the 51st minute. The final ten minutes would determine the ultimate outcome but it was Moycarkey who were held scoreless during this period. Ballingarry managed to score the final two points of the game along with five wides as the South side dominated possession in the final stages. Moycarkey did have a chance of a goal in the closing stages but were unable to convert the chance and Ballingarry took the spoils on a final scoreline of 0-15 to 0-13.

Moycarkey-Borris: Bill McCormack; Niall O’Sullivan, Phil Kelly, Kevin Moran; Daniel Kirby, Chris McCullagh, Conor Hayes; Mossy Bracken (0-1), Niall Heffernan; Pat Carey (0-1), David Morris, Matty Ryan; Kieran Morris (0-9, 0-7 frees), Paul Dempsey (0-2), Pat Ralph
Subs: Eric Fanning for David Morris (17m, injured), Jamie Costello for Matty Ryan (61m)

County Tipperary Under 16 Football Championship Semi Final
Moycarkey Borris earned themselves a County Semi Final when they overcame Durlas Óg by 11 points in the Mid Tipperary Under 16 Championship Final. The Semi Final against Inane Rovers was played on Saturday last in Newport. Moycarkey were slow to start and had to wait until the tenth minute for their first score, a pointed free by Kyle Shelly. Another free in the thirteenth minute helped to kick start Moycarkey’s scoring and by the half time they had a margin of six points; Moycarkey-Borris 0-10 Inane Rovers 0-4.

Moycarkey opened their second half scoring with a goal from Max Hackett strengthening their advantage. However, Inane Rovers increased the intensity during the second half and two goals helped to keep them within Moycarkey’s reach. Moycarkey’s steady point scoring and the six point margin coming into the second half enabled them to claim the match; Moycarkey-Borris 1-17 Inane Rovers 2-8.

Moycarkey now look forward to playing the County Final against Clonmel Óg/Ballyporeen on Saturday, July 15th in Golden at a time to be confirmed.
Moycarkey Borris team – Caylum Gooney; Lewis Kearney, Peter Melbourne (C), Owen Sheridan; Kyle Ryan, Darren Flood, Brian O’Callaghan; Dylan Shaw, Kevin Hayes; Shane Burke, Michael O’Donnell, Max Hackett; Tom Maher, Kyle Shelly, John Coffey.
Moycarkey Borris scorers – Kyle Shelly 0-12 (7 frees), Max Hackett 1-2, Kevin Hayes 0-1, Darren Flood 0-1, Liam McDonagh 0-1.
Moycarkey Borris subs – Robbie Keane for Caylum Cooney (inj), Liam Hayes for John Coffey, Andrew Alexander for Tom Maher, Liam McDonagh for Shane Burke, Jack O’Dwyer for Michael O’Donnell, Thomas Whelan for Lewis Kearney.

Roskeen Construction Mid Tipperary Junior A Hurling Championship
Moycarkey Borris will host Upperchurch Drombane in the Roskeen Construction Mid Tipperary Junior A Hurling Championship on Friday, June 30th at 7.30pm.

Jim and Anne Kennedy Mid Tipperary Junior B Football Championship
Drombane will be the venue for the Jim and Anne Kennedy Mid Tipperary Junior B Football Championship when Moycarkey Borris will compete against Upperchurch Drombane on Friday, July 7th at 8pm.

Thurles Credit Union Mid Tipperary Minor A Hurling Championship
On Wednesday, July 5th Moycarkey Borris Minor Team will travel to Templemore to take on JK Brackens Óg in the Thurles Credit Union Mid Tipperary Minor A Hurling Championship at 7.30pm.

Thurles Credit Union Mid Tipperary Minor B Hurling Championship
Na Sairsealaigh Óg will host Moycarkey-Borris in the Thurles Credit Union Mid Tipperary Minor B Hurling Championship on Thursday, July 6th in the Outside Field, Thurles.

Under 14 Team
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris Under 14 team who defeated JK Brackens in the Mid Tipperary Under 14B Hurling Championship 2017 on a score line; Moycarkey Borris 5-4 JK Brackens 2-9.

Under 8 Team
Well done to the Moycarkey Borris Under 8 team who travelled to Killenaule to play in a Hurling Blitz. Great fun was had by all.

Tipperary Minor Team
Best wishes to Anthony McKelvey on Thursday next when he lines out for Tipperary Minor team when they compete against Cork in Semple Stadium.

Cul Camp
Moycarkey Borris will host the Kellogg’s Cul Camp from Monday July 3rd to Friday July 7th inclusive. This is open to members up to 12 years of age. Cost of first child is €60, second is €50 and third/fourth is €40. Application forms are available from Juvenile Secretary, Mary Shelly or you can register online at

Moycarkey Borris Camogie and Ladies Football Club

Membership is now due for all members and forms are available from Helen Dowling or your manager.

Junior Team
Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris Junior team who were defeated by Fethard in the Munster Ladies Gaelic Football 7-a-side Junior Plate Competition in Mallow on Sunday last.
Moycarkey Borris Team – Cathriona Walsh (C), Tricia Ralph, Maeve Hackett, Maria Kinane, Rachael Dowling, Emma Dowling, Saoirse O’Meara, Emily Walsh, Zoe O’Meara, Lisa Power, Queva O’Meara.

Under 12 Ladies Football Team
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris Under 12 (2) who defeated Slieve Felim Raparees in the Tipperary Ladies Football Under 12D Championship Final on a score line Moycarkey Borris 3-1 Slieve Felim Raparees 1-1.
Moycarkey Borris team - Aoife Maher, Eva Ralph, Emma Corcoran, Orla Hayes, Emily Carroll, Jane Corcoran, Kate Dowling, Shauna Flanagan (C) (1-0), Caoimhe Fitzgibbon, Megan Kelly (0-1), Lauren Maher, Clodagh Maher, Victoria Cantwell, Aoife Shelly (2-0), Kyla Dempsey. Subs - Lily O'Doherty, Caoimhe O'Gorman, Bronagh Donnelly.
Management team: Ray Ralph, Una O'Sullivan, Sharon Ralph, Ken Maher & John Corcoran.

Under 8 Team
Well done to the Moycarkey Borris Under 8 team who travelled to Thurles Sarsfields to play in a Ladies Football Blitz. Great fun was had by all.

Information concerning Moycarkey Borris Clubs will appear in these notes. If you wish to include any item of interest, please contact us at before 8pm on SUNDAY. Visit the Moycarkey Borris web site at to keep up to date with all the latest news.