Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 28th March 2016

posted 28 Mar 2016, 15:07 by Michelle Donnelly   [ updated 28 Mar 2016, 15:18 ]
Moycarkey Borris Strictly Come Dancing
Moycarkey Borris GAA, Ladies Football and Camogie supporters congregated on Sunday night last in the Dome, Thurles to be treated to a spectacular evening’s entertainment by local dancers in their Strictly Come Dancing. After eight weeks of intense training the sixteen couples displayed their dancing skills and congratulations to them all on a hugely successful night; Seamus Burke and Cait Power, PJ Butler and Maeve Hackett, Eddie Callanan and Mary Lanigan, Martin Cooney and Ellen McCormack, Kieran Cummins and Nicola Scott, JJ Darmody and Rachael Dowling, Eric Fanning and Katie Bergin, Micheal Foley and Katie McGovern, Chris Gooney and Deborah Curtis, Conor Hayes and Sabrina Cantwell, Tommy Healy and Margaret Bergin, Rodge Heffernan and Tracy Darmody, Michael Kennedy and Michelle Lee, Joe O'Sullivan and Catherine Maher, Kieran Shortall and Joanne Cussen, Martin Shortall and Fiona McCullagh.

The judges, Jack Bergin, Ann Marie Hayes, Trish Kirby and Joe Kirwan, on the night had 40% of the overall vote but when all the votes were counted the overall winner on the night was Joe O'Sullivan and Catherine Maher. In his winning speech Joe said all 32 dancers were winners and thanked them all for their time and commitment. Marty Morrissey did an outstanding job as Master of Ceremonies. Well done to the organising committee who worked tirelessly since last December putting the show together. Thanks to Mary Corcoran, Helen Dowling, Liam Hackett, Daniel Kirby, Kieran Morris and Sharon Ralph. A special acknowledgement to all those who assisted on the night in whatever capacity. We appreciate all who supported the event either by sponsorship or by attendance and we look forward to viewing it all again on DVD in the coming weeks. 

County Senior Hurling Challenge Cup
Moycarkey-Borris 1-18 Silvermines 0-13
Moycarkey-Borris secured a deserved victory over Silvermines in the County Senior Hurling Challenge Cup under lights at a windy Littleton on Friday night. Moycarkey had the aid of the strong wind in the first half and came out of the blocks strongly with pace, power and direct hurling to race in to an early lead. After points by Kieran Morris and Niall Heffernan, Tom Hayes raised a green flag after an excellent solo run. Further points from Morris (2), Heffernan, Rory O’Regan and Pa Carey were recorded before Silvermines opened their account with a point in the 12th minute. Further points from Morris (free) and Pat Ralph saw Moycarkey lead by 1-9 to 0-1 after the first quarter.

Silvermines to their credit, steadied the ship by packing their defence against the wind and limiting Moycarkey’s scoring chances to long range efforts, four of which went wide during the second quarter. With Jason Forde now operating to good effect at midfield, Silvermines scored five of the next seven points before Niall Heffernan finished the first half scoring with a Moycarkey point from play to leave the half-time score Moycarkey-Borris 1-12 Silvermines 0-6.

Kieran Morris set up Niall Heffernan for a Moycarkey point to open the second half scoring. Now with wind assistance, Silvermines were playing much better and scored four points on the trot, three from Jason Forde to reduce the deficit to six points. Four Jason Forde frees for Silvermines were countered by three Pat Ralph frees for Moycarkey during a 25 minute period where neither team scored from open play, a consequence of the domination of both defensive units in the second half. Silvermines created a couple of half chances for goal in the closing stages but the Moycarkey defence held firm. The game ended with points from play by Moycarkey sub John Kelly and Pat Ralph as the home side ran out winners by eight points, 1-18 to 0-13.

Moycarkey-Borris: Bill McCormack; Kevin Moran, James Power, Paul Dempsey; Daniel Kirby, James Bourke, Chris McCullagh (0-1); Gerry Maguire, Rory O’Regan (0-1); Ciaran Clohessy, Niall Heffernan (0-4), Pa Carey (0-1); Pat Ralph (0-6, 0-4 frees), Kieran Morris (0-4, 0-2 frees), Tom Hayes (1-0)
Subs: Conor Hayes for Clohessy (HT), Micheal Cussen for McCullagh (33m), John Kelly (0-1) for Carey (49m), Kieran Cummins for Kirby (54m)

Mid Tipperary Minor A Football Championship
Moycarkey Borris will commence their Mid Tipperary Minor A Football Championship on Wednesday, March 30th in Littleton at 6.30pm when they compete against Thurles Sarsfields.

Mid Tipperary Junior Hurling League Division 2
Thurles Sarsfields will travel to hosts Moycarkey Borris for the first round in the Mid Tipperary Junior Hurling League on Sunday, April 3rd at 12 noon in Littleton.

Garda Cup
Congratulations to Mid Tipperary on retaining the Garda Cup again this year. Moycarkey Borris were well represented by John Kirwan, Bill Maher, Zach Jackson, Tom Ryan and Rhys Shelly and mentor Joe Bracken.

Peadar Cummins and Rodger Ryan Tournament
Best wishes to all Moycarkey Club Players in the Peadar Cummins and Rodger Ryan Tournament on Saturday, April 2nd.

Under 12
Our Under 12 team in the Group 1 Football had a good win over Loughmore on Tuesday last. We took a score advantage into the second half and saw the game out comfortably in the end. Our Group 4 team are out next Tuesday, March 29th against Clonakenny in Littleton at 6.15pm.

Camogie and Ladies Football Club
Commiserations to our Junior Ladies Football Team who were defeated by Thurles Sarsfields in Littleton on Friday last in the Tipperary Ladies Football Championship.