Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 3rd October 2016

posted 11 Oct 2016, 13:38 by Michelle Donnelly
Intermediate Football
New Inn was the venue for the Tipperary Water County Intermediate Football Championship Quarter Final on Sunday last and Moycarkey Borris and Golden Kilfeacle were the competitors. Moycarkey Borris were first to the scoreboard with a point from Niall Heffernan in the sixth minute. In the ninth minute Golden got a free which David Wade put over the bar. As the quarter ended points from Moycarkey’s Pat Ralph and Golden’s Ronan Hayes were traded, the teams were not going to be separated. Golden had chances to score a goal in the pening half but were denied by some good saves by Daniel Kirby, Moycarkey’s goalkeeper. As the ball flowed from end to end keeping both sets of defenders busy, scores were hard to come by. Tony Flanagan pointed a free in the twenty second minute but the final point of the first half went to Joshua Keane from a free in the twenty ninth to go in at half time Golden Kilfeacle 0-3 Moycarkey Borris 0-3

The second half opened and supporters had to wait until the fortieth minute for the teams to trade points from Niall Heffernan and David Wade. In the forty third minute Niall O’Sullivan ran the field and pointed for Moycarkey. The reply came in the forty eighth minute when points from Kieran Morris and Danial Currivan were exchanged. The game changed in the fifty second minute when Shane O’Connell equalised the game and three quick unanswered points came from the boots of Golden’s Paul Fogarty, Ronan Hayes and Joshua Keane putting Golden ahead. Although the game had five minutes left Moycarkey were unable to reduce the deficit and a point from Rory Ryan was neutralised when Joshua Keane pointed a free for Golden. The final two points of the game were from Golden’s Daniel Currivan and Shane O’Connell stretching the margin to five points Golden Kilfeacle 0-12 Moycarkey Borris 0-7

Moycarkey Borris team – Daniel Kirby; Joe O’Sullivan, Paul Dempsey, Brian Moran; Kevin Moran, Christopher McCullagh, Niall O’Sullivan; Pat Carey, Conor Hayes (Captain); Pat Ralph, Rory Ryan, Niall Heffernan; John Kelly, Tony Flanagan, Kieran Morris
Scorers - Niall Heffernan 0-2, Niall O’Sullivan 0-1, Pat Ralph 0-1, Tony Flanagan 0-1 (free), Kieran Morris 0-1 (free), Rory Ryan 0-1
Subs used - Ger Carey for John Kelly (23rd), Phil Kelly for Conor Hayes (53rd), Eoghan Hayes for Conor Hayes (57th), Tom Hayes for Pat Ralph (59th), Eric Fanning for Pat Carey (60th)

Golden Kilfeacle team – Ben Blackford; Matthew Ryan, Aidan O’Connell, Cian O’Connell; James McCarthy, Shane O’Connell, David Bargary; Ronan Hayes, David Wade; James Hayes, Joshua Keane, Keith Landy; Paul Fogarty, Sean O’Halloran, John Colohan
Scorers – Joshua Keane 0-3 (2 frees), Paul Fogarty 0-2 (1 free), Ronan Hayes 0-2, Shane O’Connell 0-2, Daniel Currivan 0-2, David Wade 0-1.

Referee – David Grogan

Intermediate Hurling
Moycarkey Borris will play Cashel King Cormacs in the County Intermediate Hurling Relegation in Boherlahan at 12 noon on Sunday next October 9th.

Under 16 Hurling
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris Under 16 A team who defeated Moyle Rovers in the Tipperary Co-Op Under 16 A Hurling Championship Semi Final on Saturday last.
Moycarkey Borris team - Rhys Shelly; Peter Melbourne, Tom Ryan, Kevin Hayes; Rory Darmody, Zach Jackson, Bill Maher; Aidan Scott, Jack Morrissey; Kyle Shelly, John Kirwan, Max Hackett; Diarmuid Maher, Darren Flood, James Dillon.
Scorers – Darren Flood 1-9 (5 frees), John Kirwan 0-4, Max Hackett 0-3, Kyle Shelly 0-2, Diarmuid Maher 0-1, Jack Morrissey 0-1, Rory Darmody 0-1.
Subs used – Jack Fallon for Aidan Scott (h/t), Conor Cummins for Diarmuid Maher (55th)

Under 13 Hurling
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris Under 13 team who overcame Boherlahan Dualla in the Under 13 Group 2 Shield 2016 on Sunday last.

Under 11 Hurling
Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris who were defeated by Thurles Gaels in the Mid Tipperary Under 11 Group 3 Shield Semi Final.

Thurles CBS
Thurles CBS got their schools hurling campaign off to a winning start on Tuesday last with a 3 point victory over Our Lady’s Templemore in the Dean Ryan Cup. The starting line-up included Moycarkey-Borris players Peter Melbourne, Kevin Hayes, Zack Jackson, Jack Morrissey, Darren Flood, Max Hackett and John Kirwan.

Club Newsletter
Preparations have commenced for the Moycarkey-Borris GAA Club Newsletter for 2016. Content for the Newsletter should be submitted to by Friday October 7th.

Safetalk Workshop
The Club will run a safeTALK Workshop in November. This is a half day training programme that prepares participants to identify persons with thoughts of suicide and connect them to suicide first aid resources. These specific skills are called suicide alertness and are taught with the expectation that the person learning them will use them to help reduce suicide risk in their communities. This workshop is number dependent so please register your interest by contacting either Michelle Donnelly 087 2422774 or Norah Maher 086 2473140. If we do not have the numbers required the workshop cannot go ahead.

Camogie and Ladies Football Club
Under 14 Ladies Football

Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris Under 14 team who were defeated by Ardfinnan on Saturday last in the Tipperary Ladies Football Under 14 Championship.
Moycarkey Borris team – Amy Britton; Maria Kennedy, Michelle Flanagan, Aoife Dunphy; Emma Dowling, Enya Maher, Joan O'Keeffe; Queva O’Meara, Eva Morrissey; Chloe Cummins, Emma Shelly, Lauryn O'Sullivan; Sophie Long, Zoe O'Meara, Laura Costigan. Subs - Emma O'Sullivan, Kate Fitzgibbon.

Under 10
Our girls played against Templemore on Saturday last in Clonmore for the Enda McDonnell Memorial Cup. All our girls showed some great skill and teamwork during the match. Well done to everyone on a great win. Thanks to Templemore and the McDonnell family for hosting. Thanks also to all our supporters who travelled.