Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 5th June 2017

posted 6 Jun 2017, 14:25 by Michelle Donnelly
O'Mahoney Print Mid Tipperary Junior Hurling League Division 1
Moycarkey Borris supporters travelled to Holycross on Friday last for the O’Mahoney Print Mid Tipperary Junior Hurling League Division 1 Final. Moycarkey Borris reached the Final following a walk over by Upperchurch Drombane and Holycross Ballycahill were their opponents. Brian Moran, Captain won the toss and opted to play in to the town end but wind was not a factor on this sunny summers evening.

Brian Moran was first to register a score with a point in the first minute. A pointed free from Holycross’s, Paidi Comerford equalised in the next minute. David Morris was next with a point and supporters were looking forward to an intense game. In the fifth minute, the equaliser came again and points were traded in the ninth minute by Brian Moran (free) and Padraig Russell. As the first quarter drew to a close Brian Moran and Paidi Comerford (free) traded points again to leave the score line Moycarkey Borris 0-4 Holycross Ballycahill 0-4. Moycarkey Borris hit a purple patch for the following ten minutes and unanswered points from Pat Carey, John Bergin, Paul Dempsey and Brian Moran gave Moycarkey a margin of four points. Yet again, this was short lived as Holycross Ballycahill reasserted themselves with three points for John Paul Butler (2) and Padraig Russell to go in at half time Moycarkey Borris 0-8 Holycross Ballycahill 0-7.

The second half started with two pointed frees from Holycross Ballycahill. Brian Moran replied from the puck out with a point to equalise. Points were traded again by Brian Moran and Paidi Comerford in the thirty ninth minute. There looked to be no separating of these teams until in the forty second minute Pat Carey rattled the net for Moycarkey. Paidi Comerford answered with a pointed free as the quarter turned on a score line Moycarkey Borris 1-10 Holycross Ballycahill 0-11. The sides traded two points each in the following seven minutes and Holycross reduced the margin to a point in the fifty fourth minute. Supporters waited to see if extra time would be required to separate the teams but Paul Dempsey took that notion from their heads when he raised the green flag for Moycarkey in the fifty eighth minute. Final score Moycarkey Borris 2-12 Holycross Ballycahill 0-14.

Brian Moran was presented with the Matty Connolly Plaque by Mid Board Chairman, Joe Kennedy who addressed the crowd saying that “the game was always in the balance until the last two minutes. Thanks to everyone who attended and to the players and their mentors”. Brian Moran thanked Holycross for a great game and wished them well in the future.
Moycarkey Borris team – David Ryan; Timmy Ryan, Aidan Maher, Kevin Moran; Eric Fanning, Phil Kelly, Gerry McGuire; Eoghan Hayes, Mossy Bracken; John Bergin (0-1), Patrick Carey (1-1), David Morris (0-1); Brian Moran (C) (0-8, 3 frees), Paul Dempsey (1-1), Mattie Ryan
Moycarkey Borris subs – Daniel Kirby for P Kelly (h/t), Anthony Healy for M Ryan (h/t), Niall O’Sullivan for Thomas Bracken (42nd), Ger Carey for P Dempsey (59th).

Referee – Kevin Jordan

AIB Thurles Mid Tipperary Intermediate Football Championship Final
Moycarkey Borris will take on Moyne Templetuohy in the Mid Intermediate Football Championship Final on Saturday, June 10th at 7.30pm in Holycross.

Jim and Anne Kennedy Mid Tipperary Junior B Football Championship
On Saturday, June 17th Moycarkey Borris will host Moyne Templetuohy in their first game of the Mid Tipperary Junior B Football Championship at 8pm in Littleton.

Under 12
Commiserations to Moycarkey Borris who were defeated by Durlas Óg in the Mid Tipperary Under 12 Group 1 Hurling Championship and to the Group 4 team who also, were defeated by Boherlahan Dualla in the Mid Tipperary Under 12 Group 4 Hurling Championship.

Under 10
Well done to the Under 10 team who travelled to Johnstown on Tuesday last to play in their Annual Blitz, a great evening was had by all.

County Board Draw
The Tipperary GAA County Board Draw is due to commence in the upcoming weeks. Renewal notices about the draw are being sent in the post over the approaching week. The club is encouraging all promoters to gather any outstanding monies so that the Draw for 2016/2017 will represent a new year. Thank you to all the members who support the County Board Draw and we look forward to your continued support.

Mid/North Tipperary Under 17 Hurling
Commiserations to Mid/North Tipperary who were defeated by Galway Maroons on Wednesday last in the Celtic Challenge (Under 17 Hurling) on a score line of Galway Maroons 4-12 Mid/North Tipperary 1-17. Moycarkey Borris were represented by Zach Jackson, Diarmuid Maher, Bill Maher, Tom Ryan, Rory Darmody, John Kirwan and Selector, Dermot Maher.

Moycarkey Borris Camogie and Ladies Football Club
Membership is now due for all members and forms are available from Helen Dowling or your manager.

Junior Ladies Football

Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris who defeated Cappawhite (2) in the Tipperary Ladies Football Junior A Football Championship on a score line Moycarkey Borris 7-13 Cappawhite (2) 2-2.
Moycarkey Borris panel - Megan Woodlock; Emma Dowling, Karen Mullins, Aishling Brennan; Rachael Dowling, Marie Kinnane, Siobhan Carroll; Saoirse O’Meara, Breana O’Gorman; Zoe O’Meara, Catherina Walsh, Marianne Murphy; Kate Sheridan, Lisa Power, Laura Ralph
Subs - Doireann Kelly, Aoife Walsh.

Information concerning Moycarkey Borris Clubs will appear in these notes. If you wish to include any item of interest, please contact us at before 8pm on SUNDAY. Visit the Moycarkey Borris web site at to keep up to date with all the latest news.