Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes - 5th September 2016

posted 6 Sep 2016, 12:49 by Michelle Donnelly
Under 16 Mid Final
Moycarkey Borris are on the road to another County Final Semi Final this year after a comprehensive defeat over Holycross Ballycahill in the Eamon Darmody & Sons Mid Tipperary Under 16A Hurling Final on Saturday in Boherlahan.

An early goal from James Dillon set the defending Mid and County champions Moycarkey on the road and this was followed with points from Jack Fallon and John Kirwan (2) to Ben Slattery’s pointed free for Holycross after five minutes. The game continued at the same high pace and the scoreboard reflected this with further points from Darren Flood (4), John Kirwan and Jack Fallon to another pointed free from Ben Slattery Holycross, leaving the score line after twenty minutes Moycarkey Borris 1-9 Holycross Ballycahill 0-2. The point scoring for Moycarkey Borris was accurate and kept the scoreboard busy but the goals evaded them with three goals chances missed. This was corrected in the twenty third minute as Darren Flood raised the green flag for Moycarkey Borris. Another three unanswered points for Moycarkey Borris saw them go in at half time sixteen points the better of Holycross Ballycahill, Moycarkey Borris 2-12 Holycross Ballycahill 0-2.

Following an earlier fracas in the dying minutes of the first half Holycross Ballycahill returned to the field with fourteen players but they were not at the loss of this in the opening minute when Frank Hanafin opened their scoring as he netted the ball. Moycarkey Borris next score came from an impressive sideline ball taken by Jack Fallon which was directed between the posts. The next seven minutes saw both teams trade three points each. Moycarkey Borris hit another purple patch of scoring with three unanswered points before there was a swap of a point in the fiftieth minute. Substitute Aidan Scott raised the green flag for Moycarkey in the fifty third minute stretching the margin to twenty points. Jack Fallon and John Kirwan scored two more points before Max Hackett rattled the net for Moycarkey’s fourth goal. Moycarkey Borris scored three more points from Darren Flood (2) and Diarmuid Maher before the final score from Rhys Shelly whose long range free evaded the Holycross goalie for a fifth goal for Moycarkey Borris. Final score - Moycarkey Borris 5-25 Holycross Ballycahill 1-6.

Afterwards, Mid Tipperary Coiste na Nog Chairman Michael Bourke presented the cup to Moycarkey-Borris captain Jack Fallon in the presence of sponsor Eamon Darmody.

Moycarkey Borris team - Rhys Shelly; Peter Melbourne, Tom Ryan, Kevin Hayes; Rory Darmody, Zach Jackson, Bill Maher; Jack Fallon, Jack Morrissey; Kyle Shelly, John Kirwan, Max Hackett; Diarmuid Maher, Darren Flood, James Dillon.
Subs – Aidan Scott for Kyle Shelly (50th), Conor Cummins for Peter Melbourne (58th), Kyle Ryan for John Kirwan (58th)
Scorers - Darren Flood 1-10 (5 frees), Jack Fallon 0-6 (2 frees), John Kirwan 0-5, Max Hackett 1-1, Rhys Shelly 1-0 (free), James Dillon 1-0, Aidan Scott 1-0, Jack Morrissey 0-1, Kyle Shelly 0-1, Diarmuid Maher 0-1.

Holycross Ballycahill team – Cormac O’Connor; Luke Scally, Paddy McGrath, Seamus Stakelum; Jack Ryan, Eoin Morris (0-1, 1 free), Eamon Ryan; Mike Nally, Frank Hanafin (1-0); Ben Slattery (0-2, 2 frees), David Manning, Eanna Ryan; Pa O’Gorman, Colin Nolan (0-2, 2 frees), Dean O’Brien
Subs – Luke Galvin (0-1)

Referee: Kevin Jordan (Thurles Gaels)

Well done Moycarkey Borris Under 16B team who drew with Thurles Gales in the Mid Tipperary Under 16B Hurling, they will play Upperchurch Drombane next Friday night at a venue and time to be confirmed.

Minor A Hurling
Moycarkey Borris will play Holycross Ballycahill in the Thurles Credit Union Minor A Hurling Semi Final on Wednesday 7th September in Boherlahan at 6pm.

Junior B Football
In the Jim and Anne Kennedy Mid Tipperary Junior B Football Championship Moycarkey Borris will take on Upperchurch Drombane in Drombane on Saturday, September 10th at 5.30pm.

Under 11
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris Under 11 team who narrowly defeated JK Brackens in a tight game in the Mid Tipperary GAA Under 11 Group 1 Shield Competition.

Camogie and Ladies Football Club
Junior Camogie

Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris Junior team who overcame Portroe on Friday last. Moycarkey Borris panel - Megan Woodlock, Ann Connolly, Kelly Hackett, Olivia Hogan, Karen Mullins, Maeve Hackett, Breena O’Gorman, Maria Kinnane, Saoirse O’Meara, Rachael Dowling, Marianne Murphy, Paula Ralph, Patrica Ralph, Laura Gleeson, Emily Walsh. Sub's Michaella Graham, Jessie Hayes, Claire Ryan and Helen Horan.

Under 14 Ladies Football
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris Camogie & Ladies Football Club Under 14's who defeated Mullinahone in the Tipperary Ladies Football Under 14 Championship. They will now play Cahir Ladies in the Tipperary Ladies Under 14 Championship on Friday, September 9th at 6.30pm in Littleton.
Moycarkey Borris panel – Amy Britton; Maria Kennedy, Roisin Donnelly, Aoife Dunphy; Zoe McKenna, Enya Maher, Emma Dowling; Emma Shelly, Queva O'Meara; Chloe Cummins, Lauryn O'Sullivan, Leah Walsh; Laura Costigan, Zoe O'Meara, Sarah Hayes and Sophie Long

Under 12
Congratulations to our Under 12 team who defeated Portroe in the Tipperary Camogie Under 12 Semi Final in the Ragg Camogie Grounds on Friday last.