Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes, 16th October 2017

posted 17 Oct 2017, 13:12 by Michelle Donnelly
Seamus O’Riain Cup Relegation - Knockavilla Kickhams 1-19 Moycarkey-Borris 1-16
Report by Ed Donnelly
Moycarkey-Borris lost out to Knockavilla Kickhams by three points in the last round of the Seamus O’Riain Cup Relegation competition on Saturday in Boherlahan. However, thanks to their two big wins over Borrisokane and Ballingarry, Moycarkey-Borris survive and Knockavilla Kickhams will join Borrisokane in the Intermediate ranks for 2018.

With Knockavilla needing at least a 12-point victory, the odds of them surviving were remote as the game started. Kickhams played with the aid of the strong wind in the opening half and raced into a two-point lead in the opening stages following points by Ger Browne and Eoin Carew. Moycarkey-Borris responded with points from play by Phil Kelly and Pat Carey. Kickhams were playing the better hurling at this stage and a long range free by Eoin Carew dropped to Davy Butler who’s shot from close range hit the back of the net. Kickhams followed this up with three quick points to lead by six points after ten minutes.

Pat Carey added a point from play in the tenth minute but Kickhams continued to dominate and stretched their lead to 8 points after the first quarter, 1-8 to 0-3. At this stage, with Kickhams in dominant form, the 12-point winning margin required didn’t look impossible. Moycarkey-Borris received a further set-back when centre-back David Morris was forced off with a head injury in the 24th minute to be replaced by Kieran Cummins. While Moycarkey’s play didn’t improve significantly in the closing stages of the first half, the Kickhams scoring rate slowed down and by the interval, Moycarkey had reduced the deficit to 1-10 to 0-6.

Anthony McKelvey replaced Paul Dempsey for Moycarkey-Borris for the second half as the Mid side looked to get back in to the game with wind advantage. Moycarkey scored early points from Rory Ryan, McKelvey (free) and Pat Carey before Kickhams replied with two pointed frees. In the 41st minute, Anthony McKelvey gathered a long ball in to the danger area before being fouled at the expense of a penalty which was expertly converted for a goal by the same player. Further points by Pat Carey and Phil Kelly brought the sides level after 43 minutes, 1-12 to 1-12.

Moycarkey-Borris continued to play well and after 50 minutes, had taken the lead for the first time after points by Phil Kelly and McKelvey (free) to leave the scoreline 1-14 to 1-13. To their credit, Kickhams continued to put on the pressure and managed to dominate the closing stages. Goals were required for the West side and while they didn’t arrive, the Kickhams did manage to outscore Moycarkey by 0-6 to 0-2 in the last ten minutes to record a three-point victory, 1-19 to 1-16.
Moycarkey-Borris: Bill McCormack; Niall O’Sullivan, James Power, Kevin Moran; Conor Hayes, David Morris, Pat Molloy; Rory Ryan (0-1), Phil Kelly (0-5); Niall Heffernan, Pat Carey (0-4), Tom Hayes; Kieran Morris (0-3 frees), Paul Dempsey, Mossy Bracken
Subs: Kieran Cummins for David Morris (24m, injured), Anthony McKelvey (1-2, 1-0 penalty, 0-2 frees) for Dempsey (HT), Pat Ralph (0-1) for Ryan (50m), Matty Ryan for Kieran Morris (55m)

Tipperary Water County Junior A Hurling Championship Semi Final
On Sunday last Moycarkey Borris supporters travelled to Templemore to watch their Junior A Hurling team play Toomevara in the County Semi Final. Moycarkey Borris opened their game well with points from John Bergin (3) and a free from Brian Moran to be three points the better of Toomevara’s, Paddy Grace’s single point. Toomevara soon settled in the play and scored three unanswered points to equalise the game on the tenth minute. Brian Moran put Moycarkey back in front again in the fourteenth minute with another point but as the quarter turned Toomevara’s Paddy Grace equalised again. Points were traded again with Anthony Healy and Shane Nolan, Toomevara but on the nineteenth minute Toomevara’s Kieran Flaherty pushed them forward. This was aided by two more pointed frees from Paddy Grace before Moycarkey’s JJ Darmody raised their white flag. This was soon neutralised by a David Young point. In the final minutes of the half Gerry McGuire and Brian Moran traded two points with Paddy Grace to go in at half time Toomevara 0-12 Moycarkey Borris 0-9.

Toomevara opened the second half scoring with a point from Paddy Grace which Joey Doran neutralised. Shane Nolan on the thirty sixth minute stretched Toomevara’s lead to four points. Points were traded again in the forty second minute with Joey Doran and Paddy Grace. On the forty fourth minute Moycarkey rallied and added two quick points from Brian Moran and Anthony Healy to keep them in the game, Toomevara 0-15 Moycarkey Borris 0-13. This comeback was shortlived as Toomevara’s defence did not allow Moycarkey to build on it. Points from newly introduced substitute, Pauric Shanahan and Shane Nolan retained the four-point margin. Moycarkey sub Rob Doran scored their final point of the game but Paddy Grace added two further points for Toomevara to leave the final score; Toomevara 0-19 Moycarkey Borris 0-14.
Moycarkey-Borris: David Ryan; Mikey Bergin, Daniel Kirby, Timmy Ryan; Eric Fanning, Niall O’Sullivan, Rory O’Regan; Eoghan Hayes, Gerry McGuire (0-1); Jamie Costello, John Bergin (0-3), JJ Darmody (0-1); Brian Moran (0-4, 0-2 frees), Tony Flanagan, Anthony Healy (0-2)
Subs: Peter O’Brien for Mikey Bergin (injured), Joey Doran (0-2) for Jamie Costello (23rd), Rob Doran (0-1) for Tony Flanagan (h/t), Kevin O’Regan for Brian Moran (58th).

Tipperary Water County Minor A Hurling Championship Final

There is a DVD of the Minor A Hurling Final available to be purchased, anyone interested should contact Michelle McKelvey on 086 8945809.

Under 15 Team
In the Mid Tipperary Under 15 B Shield Hurling, Moycarkey Borris drew with Boherlahan Dualla on Saturday last on a score line Boherlahan Dualla 1-9 Moycarkey-Borris 0-12

Moycarkey Borris Camogie and Ladies Football Club
Under 19 team

Moycarkey Borris Under 19 team will play Moyne Templetuohy in the Tipperary Ladies Football Under 19 Championship in Littleton on Sunday, October 22nd at 4.45pm.

Under 10 team
Moycarkey Borris Under 10 team travelled to Duneske Cahir on Saturday last and took part in a football blitz against teams from Cahir, Ballyporeen and Galtee Rovers. Thanks to Cahir Ladies Football club for hosting.

Under 8 team
Well done to Moycarkey Borris Under 8 team who travelled to Duneske Cahir for the Cahir Ladies Football Club Under 8 blitz. All girls had a great day of ladies football and fun.

Information concerning Moycarkey Borris Clubs will appear in these notes. If you wish to include any item of interest, please contact us at before 8pm on SUNDAY. Visit the Moycarkey Borris web site at to keep up to date with all the latest news.