Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey Borris GAA Club Notes, 9th October 2017

posted 10 Oct 2017, 12:02 by Michelle Donnelly
Tipperary Water County Minor A Hurling Championship Final - Roscrea 3-12 Moycarkey-Borris 0-14
Report by Ed Donnelly
Roscrea are the 2017 County Minor A Hurling Champions after a deserved seven point victory over Moycarkey-Borris at a packed Templemore on Saturday.
Moycarkey-Borris made the better start with two quick points from Bill Maher and Anthony McKelvey. However, Roscrea soon got in to their stride and began to lay siege to the Moycarkey-Borris goal. The North champions managed to score five of the next six points of the game with Glenn Loughnane, Owen Tynan, Luke Cashin and Jason Gilmartin getting in on the scoring act to leave Roscrea in front by 0-5 to 0-3 after 13 minutes.
Roscrea should have been more in front but for hitting six wides in the opening quarter. After being out of the game, Moycarkey-Borris eventually got in to the stride and scored four points on the trot to lead by 0-7 to 0-5 after 21 minutes. A minute later, Roscrea’s general superiority was finally reflected on the scoreboard when Vladislav Bodros caught a high ball on the edge of the square, turned and finished to the net to give Roscrea the lead.
Roscrea added the next two points before Moycarkey-Borris finished the first half scoring with a long range Anthony McKelvey free to leave the half-time score 1-7 to 0-8 in favour of Roscrea. The first half wide count was 8 to Roscrea and 1 to Moycarkey-Borris.
The Mid champions began the second half in better form and two quick points brought the sides level after 33 minutes. The teams traded pointed frees a minute later before a seven minute period where the play was intense but no scores were recorded, mainly due to the outstanding tackling on both teams.
The next score was going to be crucial and so it proved when Vladislav Bodros scored his and Roscrea’s second goal in the 41st minute to put in side in front by 2-8 to 0-11. Moycarkey tried their best to get back in to the game but found the Roscrea goalkeeper Graham Fahy in good form as he made two top-class saves from firstly Darren Flood and then Max Hackett. Having kept their goal intact, Roscrea slowly but surely edged further in front and by the 55th minute, led by six points, 2-12 to 0-12.
Moycarkey-Borris added two points to reduce the deficit to four but after missing out on some earlier goal chances, the impressive Daniel Ryan ended this game as a contest when he finished a long solo run with a goal two minutes in to injury time. That would be the final score of the game and soon afterwards, referee John McCormack blew for full-time and Roscrea were crowned champions.
Afterwards, County Board Chairman Michael Bourke presented the cup to the Roscrea captain Stephen Carey. Despite hitting 12 wides during the hour, Roscrea were fully deserving winners with their work rate, in particular in defence putting any Moycarkey-Borris player in possession under serious pressure. Roscrea also had a more balanced team with eight players scoring from play. On the other hand, Moycarkey-Borris had just five scorers from play with Anthony McKelvey scoring 10 of their 14 points.
Despite this County Final disappointment, Moycarkey-Borris can be encouraged by their campaign, securing tight wins over JK Brackens and Holycross to win the Mid before accounting for Moyle Rovers in the County Semi-Final. On this occasion, Moycarkey-Borris simply lost to the better team and there is no disgrace in that.
There is a DVD of the match available to be ordered, contact Michelle Spillane-Mckelvey, 086 8945809.
Moycarkey-Borris: Rhys Shelly; Peter Melbourne, Tom Ryan, Kieran Kearney; Kevin Hayes, Zach Jackson, Rory Darmody; Bill Maher (0-1), Jack Fallon (0-1); Max Hackett (0-1), John Kirwan, Shane Maher; Mark Heffernan, Anthony McKelvey (0-10, 0-7 frees), Darren Flood (0-1)
Subs: Diarmuid Maher, Jack Hackett, David O’Donnell

Tipperary Water County Intermediate Football Semi-Final - Clonmel Óg 2-12 Moycarkey-Borris 0-8
Report by Ed Donnelly
Clonmel Óg secured a 10-point victory over Moycarkey-Borris in the County Intermediate Football Semi-Final at New Inn on Sunday afternoon.
This game was decided in the opening half when Clonmel Óg raced in to a seven-point lead after eight minutes, the goal coming from Aaron Arrigan to put them in front by 1-4 to 0-0. When midfielder Graham Quinn scored Clonmel Óg’s second goal in the 20th minute, his side led by 2-5 to 0-0 and the game was over as a contest.
Moycarkey-Borris had plenty of possession in the opening half but with the Clonmel Óg defence playing well, the Mid champions were restricted to shots from long range. On this occasion, the shooting radar for Moycarkey-Borris was clearly not working in that first half as despite having more shots on goal in the first half than their opponents, Moycarkey failed to score and by the interval, Clonmel Óg led by 2-7 to 0-0. Moycarkey-Borris kicked 10 wides in the opening half and dropped three other shots short.
Moycarkey-Borris finally got off the mark in the first minute of the second half when Rory Ryan scored a point from play. Moycarkey had the better of the opening stages of the second half and points by Anthony Healy (2 frees) and Rory Ryan had reduced the deficit to 10 points after 37 minutes.
Alas, that was as close as Moycarkey would get as both teams went through the motions in the final 20 minutes. Indeed, neither team scored from play in the last 25 minutes. The full-time whistle was greeted with cheers of joy by the Clonmel Óg supporters while Moycarkey-Borris will have to be content with the Mid title after their three-match campaign.
Moycarkey-Borris: Daniel Kirby; Tom Hayes, Niall O’Sullivan, James Power; Kevin Moran, Chris McCullagh, Niall Heffernan; Conor Hayes (Captain), Paul Dempsey; David Morris, Phil Kelly, Pat Molloy; Jack Hackett, Rory Ryan (0-5, 0-3 frees), Anthony Healy (0-3 frees)
Subs: Kieran Cummins for Molloy (HT), Ger Carey for Power (44m)

Buster Night Fundraiser
On Saturday, October 7th, Moycarkey Borris GAA Club hosted a fundraising buster night in Thurles Greyhound Stadium. A great Moycarkey presence was in the Greyhound Stadium on the night and thanks to all who purchased the buster tickets. The winner of the buster race was Jack Pyne, Roscrea and Anne Flanagan, Forgestown.
The “Fastest Man in the Parish” was decided on the night when nine members raced 330 yards around the greyhound track. Thanks to Niall Heffernan, Tom Hayes, Michael Cussen, JJ Darmody, Rory Ryan, Chris McCullagh, Kieran Cummins, James Power and Gerry McGuire for competing on the night. Congratulations to JJ Darmody who won the race and Kieran Cummins for giving him stiff competition to finish in second place.
All proceeds from the night went to the Club Development Fund and a special mention to the committee who worked tirelessly on the Fundraiser. Thanks to all who sponsored prizes on the night.

Paddy Cooney Tournament
The Paddy Cooney tournament was held in Littleton on Saturday last. Thanks to all the clubs when attended - Roscrea, Borris-Ileigh, Drom and Inch, Ballingarry, Gortnahoe Glengoole, Na Piarsaigh Limerick and Killenaule. A great day of fun and hurling was had by all with Ballingarry winning the A Final, Borris-Ileigh taking the B title. In the C Final Roscrea came out on top and Drom took the D title.

County Board Draw
The Tipperary GAA County Board Draw was held on Friday last in Rockys Bar, Nenagh. Moycarkey Borris had no winners on the night. Thank you to all the members who support the County Board Draw and we look forward to your continued support. Any monies due can paid by contacting your promoter.

Information concerning Moycarkey Borris Clubs will appear in these notes. If you wish to include any item of interest, please contact us at
 before 8pm on SUNDAY. Visit the Moycarkey Borris web site at to keep up to date with all the latest news.