Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey GAA Club Notes - 27th March 2017

posted 28 Mar 2017, 11:23 by Michelle Donnelly
“Tipperary Water” County Hurling League Division 2 Group 1
Loughmore-Castleiney 0-18 Moycarkey-Borris 1-13

Loughmore-Castleiney prevailed in a closely contested County Hurling League round 2 game played at a sunny but windy Littleton on Sunday last. Loughmore had the aid of the strong wind in the first half but it was Moycarkey who made the better start thanks to a Pat Ralph pointed free followed by a Kieran Morris goal within the opening two minutes. Loughmore eventually settled in to the game and thanks mainly to the accurate free-taking of Evan Sweeney, scored seven unanswered points over the next 15 minutes with Sweeney accounting for four of these scores, 3 from frees and 1 from a 65.

Pat Ralph responded with a pointed free in the 19th minute only to see Loughmore add on another 3 points, each from Sweeney frees to open up a 0-10 to 1-2 lead heading in to the closing stages of the first half. Moycarkey’s play improved in those final minutes and points from Pat Ralph (2 frees) and Pat Carey left just two points between the teams. Evan Sweeney added his eighth point from a placed ball just before the interval to leave the half-time score Loughmore-Castleiney 0-11 Moycarkey-Borris 1-5.

Moycarkey played well to open the second half and added points from Pat Ralph (2), Rory Ryan and James Bourke with the sole Loughmore response coming courtesy of an Even Sweeney free and the sides were level after 36 minutes of play. A ten-minute scoreless period was broken when a Pat Ralph free put Moycarkey in front heading in to the final quarter, 1-10 to 0-12. Instead of Moycarkey pushing home their advantage with wind assistance, it was Loughmore who hit a purple patch, hitting five unanswered points in the next 10 minutes with Evan Sweeney (3), Anthony Ryan and Cian Hennessy adding the crucial scores to put Loughmore in control. Rory Ryan, Pat Ralph (free) and Kieran Morris scored late points for Moycarkey but Loughmore kept in front thanks to points from Evan Sweeney and Thomas McGrath to run out winners in the end by two points, 0-18 to 1-13.

Moycarkey Borris team – Bill McCormack; Kieran Cummins, James Power (C), Michael Cussen; Daniel Kirby, Pat Molloy, Kevin Moran; James Bourke (0-1), Mossy Bracken; Rory Ryan (0-2), David Morris, Kieran Morris (1-1); Pat Ralph (0-8 frees), Pat Carey (0-1), Conor Hayes
Subs used – Tom Hayes for Pat Carey (46m), Chris McCullagh for Mossy Bracken (46m), Paul Dempsey for Micheal Cussen (52m)

Loughmore Castleiney: Shane Nolan; Willie Eviston, Lorcan Egan, Diarmuid Brennan; John Ryan, David Kennedy, Joseph Nyland; Bill O’Connell, Thomas McGrath (0-1); Evan Sweeney (0-12, 0-10 frees, 0-1 65), Ciaran McGrath (0-2), Anthony Ryan (0-1); Tommy Maher, Henry Maher (0-1), Cian Hennessy (0-1)

Referee: Philip Kelly (Ballinahinch)

Junior Hurling League
In the O’Mahoney Print Mid Tipperary Junior Hurling League Division 1 Moycarkey Borris will play Holycross Ballycahill in Littleton on Saturday, April 1st at 6.30pm.

Minor Football Championship
In the Mid Tipperary Minor Football Championship Moycarkey Borris have two teams competing; one in the A Championship and the other in the B Championship. Both Championships are due to be played concurrently so on Wednesday, March 29th Moycarkey Borris will compete against Loughmore Castleiney in the A Championship in Castleiney at 6.30pm while in Littleton the B Championship will be played against Upperchurch Drombane.

Under 12
Congratulations to Moycarkey Borris who successfully overcame Clonakenny in the Mid Tipperary GAA Under 12 Group 4 Football Championship.

Peadar Cummins Tournament
Congratulations to Mid Tipperary who defeated West Tipperary in the Peadar Cummins Cup Final on a score line Mid Tipperary 3-18 West Tipperary 2-10. They had previously defeated North and South Tipperary last weekend to place them in the Cup Final. Moycarkey Borris was represented on the team by Cathal Corcoran.

County Board Draw
Moycarkey Borris will welcome the County Board Draw to Bannon’s, Two Mile Borris on Friday, April 7th at 10pm. Congratulations to Willie Dempsey who won first prize a Renault Car or €15,000 while promoter Tim Kelly will be awarded with his €500 winnings. As the year is drawing to a close it is very important for all members to get the accounts paid up.

Membership for the 2017 season is now open and can be paid to Senior Club Registrars Kieran Morris or James Power or Senior Club Secretary, Michelle McKelvey or Juvenile Club Registrar Mary Shelly. The membership rates are as follows - Juvenile (Single) Player - €30; Minor (Single) Player - €30; Adult (Single) Player - €50; Family (2 Adults / 2 Boys*) - €70 (Note: Each additional boy is €15); Non-Player / Mentors - €40.