Club Notes‎ > ‎

Moycarkey GAA Club Notes - 3rd April 2017

posted 4 Apr 2017, 11:43 by Michelle Donnelly
Junior Hurling League
Moycarkey Borris got their O'Mahoney Print Mid Tipp Junior Hurling League off to a good start when they overcame Holycross Ballycahill on a score line, Moycarkey-Borris 1-17 Holycross Ballycahill 1-14. With a half time score line of Holycross Ballycahill 1-10 Moycarkey-Borris 0-7, Moycarkey had it all to do in the second half and managed to do so finishing the game with an Anthony Healy goal and securing the win.
Moycarkey Borris team – David Ryan; Michael Cussen, Paul Dempsey, Timmy Ryan; Eoghan Hayes, David Morris, Daniel Kirby (0-1); Patrick Carey (0-1), Tomas Bracken (0-1); Mattie Ryan, Tony Flanagan (0-2), Philip Kelly; Jamie Fanning (0-2), Jamie Costello (0-1), Brian Moran (0-6, 3 frees).
Subs – Anthony Healy (1-2), John Bergin (0-1)

Minor Football Championship
In the Minor A Football Championship in Castleiney on Wednesday last, Moycarkey Borris comprehensively defeated Loughmore Castleiney and now look forward to Na Sairsealaigh Óg in round two next Thursday, April 6th at 6.30pm in Littleton.
Moycarkey Borris team – Rhys Shelly; Sean O’Meara, Kieran Kearney, David O’Donnell; Tom Ryan, Zach Jackson, Kevin Hayes; James Dillon (0-2), Bill Maher (0-1); Max Hackett (0-3), Jack Hackett (2-2), Shane Maher (0-1); Diarmuid Maher (1-1), Anthony McKelvey (0-5, 2 frees), Darren Flood (1-0).
Subs - Caolan O’Brien (1-1), Mark Heffernan.

In the B Championship Moycarkey Borris were not as fortunate and were defeated by Upperchurch Drombane on the night. On Thursday next, April 6th the B team will travel to Kickham Park to take on Moyne T/Thurles Gaels at 6.30pm.
Moycarkey Borris team – Ciaran Kirwan; Pat Hackett, Paudi O’Gorman, Conor Cummins; Bill Hackett, Peter Melbourne, Brian O’Callaghan; Michael Murphy, Daniel Brown; Ben O’Dwyer, Aidan Scott (1-2, 1 free), Brendan Looby; Bill Gleeson, Ciaran Lonergan (1-0), John Coffey.

Mid Tipperary Feile Hurling
In the Mid Tipperary Feile Moycarkey Borris overcame Gortnahoe/Glengoole in the Semi Final but met a stronger JK Brackens in the Final on Sunday last. Well done to all who competed in the competition.

Under 12 Mid Tipperary GAA Football Championship
In the Mid Tipperary GAA Under 12 Football Championship Moycarkey Borris have two teams competing one in Group 1 and the other in Group 4. In Group 1 Moycarkey Borris met a stronger Durlas Óg and were defeated on the day.
However, in Group 4 Moycarkey Borris had a mixed week; defeating JK Brackens on a score line Moycarkey Borris 4-3 JK Brackens 2-2 and later in the week suffering a defeat at the hands of Boherlahan Dualla.

Garda Cup
In the Garda Cup Mid Tipperary competed in a Shield Final on Saturday last following two losses to the North and South the previous weekend. A win against the West last weekend meant they played the South in the Final. Mid Tipperary came through with the victory after extra time. Moycarkey Borris was represented by John Coffey, Liam McDonagh, Shane Burke and Peter Melbourne who captained the Mid team.

County Board Draw
Moycarkey Borris will welcome the County Board Draw to Bannon’s, Two Mile Borris on Friday, April 7th at 10pm. Congratulations to Willie Dempsey who won first prize a Renault Car or €15,000 while promoter Tim Kelly will be awarded with his €500 winnings. As the year is drawing to a close it is very important for all members to get the accounts paid up.

Ladies Football Camogie and Ladies Football Club
Junior Camogie

Moycarkey Borris overcame Thurles Sarsfields in their first game of Junior Camogie but were not as fortunate in their second round game when they met a stronger Holycross Ballycahill.
Moycarkey Borris panel – Tricia Ralph, Michaela Graham, Catherina Walsh, Maeve Hackett, Marianne Murphy, Maria Kinnane, Laura Gleeson, Emily Walsh, Rachael Dowling, Saoirse O’Meara, Megan Woodlock, Breana O’Gorman, Aisling Brennan, Deirdre Ryan, Claire Ryan, Amy McGovern, Niamh Woodlock, Laura Ralph, Michaella McKelvey.

Under 16
In the Tipperary Ladies Football Under 16 Championship Moycarkey Borris were defeated by Moyne Templetuohy. Their next round game will be against Silvermines in Dolla.
Moycarkey Borris team – Emma Shelly (0-1); Maria Kennedy, Michaella McKelvey, Roisín Donnelly; Siobhán Carroll, Aoife Walsh, Emma Dowling; Tasha Tully, Enya Maher (0-1); Clodagh Fallon (0-1), Amy McGovern (1-0), Kate Sheridan; Leah Walsh, Zoe O’Meara, Lauryn O’Sullivan. Subs – Emma O’Sullivan and Joan O’Keeffe