Match Reports‎ > ‎

2016 Cahill Cup Final - Moycarkey Borris 1-12 Loughmore Castleiney 0-12

posted 19 Mar 2017, 15:52 by Michelle Donnelly   [ updated 19 Mar 2017, 15:57 ]
Although the final was carried over from last year that did not matter on the field of play on Sunday last. This game had everything a final should have and supporters were not disappointed. 

The scoring started in the first minute with a point for Tommy Maher, Loughmore Castleiney. Points were traded in the third minute and Moycarkey Borris hit a purple patch with four points from Pat Ralph, Kieran Morris (2), Pat Molloy before Cian Hennessy pointed for Loughmore. In the following five minutes frees were crucial to the scoring and Moycarkey’s, Pat Ralph registered two to Loughmore’s single free by John McGrath. Entering the next quarter Moycarkey had a three point margin but this always looked unstable and a point from Tomás McGrath in the sixteenth reduced it. Moycarkey had the next two points in the eighteenth minute from James Bourke and Conor Hayes. Loughmore’s McGrath brothers, Noel and John concluded their scoring with two further points. But the last score in injury time set Moycarkey up with a good half time advantage, a goal from Tom Hayes. Moycarkey Borris 1-9 Loughmore Castleiney 0-7. 
Moycarkey Borris opened the scoring in the second half with a Pat Ralph free and Loughmore replied with a free of their own in the thirty eighth minute. Tensions had risen in the game and Loughmore’s next two scores were from John McGrath frees. As the final fifteen minutes commenced it was the goal which separated the teams. A pointed 65 from Pat Ralph gave Moycarkey a further cushion but as the game entered the final ten minutes Moycarkey’s David Morris was substituted as he was injured. In the fifty third minute John McGrath nullified Pat Ralph’s 65 with a free. Moycarkey had a further blow when Michael Cussen was substituted with an injury. Points were traded soon after before Kevin Jordan blew for full time, Moycarkey Borris 1-12 Loughmore Castleiney 0-12.

Afterwards, Mid Board Chairman Joe Kennedy presented the cup to Moycarkey-Borris captain James Power and congratulated all involved on a great game of hurling.

Moycarkey Borris team – Bill McCormack; Kieran Cummins, James Power (C), Michael Cussen; Kevin Moran, Tom Hayes (1-0 sideline cut), Pat Molloy (0-1); Chris McCullagh, James Bourke (0-2); Pat Carey, Rory Ryan (0-1), David Morris; Pat Ralph (0-5, 3 frees, 2 65), Conor Hayes (0-1), Kieran Morris (0-2).
Subs used – Tomas Bracken for Pat Carey (46th), Philip Kelly for David Morris (51st, injured), Daniel Kirby for Michael Cussen (57th, injured)

Loughmore Castleiney scorers – John McGrath (0-7, 6 frees), Noel McGrath (0-2, 1 free), Tomás McGrath (0-1), Tommy Maher (0-1), Cian Hennessy (0-1).