Match Reports‎ > ‎

2017 Cahill Cup Quarter-Final - Moycarkey-Borris 2-18 Holycross-Ballycahill 1-23

posted 20 May 2017, 11:14 by Michelle Donnelly
2017 Cahill Cup Quarter-Final - Moycarkey-Borris 2-18 Holycross-Ballycahill 1-23
By Ed Donnelly

Defending champions Moycarkey-Borris bowed out of the Cahill Cup at the Quarter-Final stage on Tuesday last by virtue of a two-point defeat at the hands of neighbours Holycross-Ballycahill at Littleton.

Holycross had the aid of the wind in the opening half but it was Moycarkey who made the better start. Anthony McKelvey accounted for Moycarkey’s first two points and in the ninth minute, McKelvey set up Kieran Morris for a well worked goal and the home side led 1-3 to 0-2. By the end of the first quarter, the sides had added two points each before Holycross took over completely.

During a ten-minute purple patch, Holycross hit 7 points on the trot and by the interval, Holycross had turned a 4 point deficit in to a 3 point interval lead – 0-12 to 1-6.

Moycarkey’s play on the resumption improved and the home side drew level within five minutes thanks to unanswered points from Kieran Morris (2) and Pat Ralph. Holycross edged in front again as the game entered the final quarter before another purple patch saw the visitors scoring 1-3 without reply from the 45th to 50th minute to take control of the game, leading by 1-18 to 1-11.

Moycarkey however responded in the best possible way and four unanswered points from Rory Ryan (2), Mossy Bracken and Kieran Morris brought their side back in to contention. When a Kieran Morris goalbound shot took a deflection and ended up in the net, the sides were level with three minutes of normal time remaining.

Rather than push on to victory, it was Holycross who took back the imitative and four points in four minutes left Moycarkey needing a goal to salvage a draw. Moycarkey did add on two points in injury time but it was too little, too late and Holycross ran out deserving two point winners.

Moycarkey Borris team – Bill McCormack; Kieran Cummins, James Power (C), Michael Cussen; Daniel Kirby, Kevin Moran, James Bourke; Mossy Bracken (0-1), Conor Hayes; Matty Ryan, Pat Ralph (0-2), Pat Carey; Rory Ryan (0-3), Kieran Morris (2-9, 0-7 frees), Anthony McKelvey (0-2)

Subs used – Paul Dempsey for Cummins (26m), Gerry Maguire for Matty Ryam (42m), Phil Kelly (0-1 free) for Carey (43m), Eric Fanning for Bourke (51m), Timmy Ryan for Ralph (56m)