Match Reports‎ > ‎

AIB Thurles Mid Intermediate Football Final - Moyne Templetuohy 0-12 Moycarkey Borris 0-6

posted 18 Sep 2016, 15:23 by Michelle Donnelly
The AIB Thurles Mid Intermediate Football Final was held in Holycross on Saturday last with only two teams in the competition it was a straight Final Moycarkey Borris and Moyne Templetuohy in ideally autumnal conditions.

John Hassett, Moyne Templetuohy was the first to get a point in the second minute but a quick reply from Moycarkey’s midfielder Pat Carey in the third minute equalised the game. In the following ten minutes, the next four points of the game came from Moyne’s Odhran Lloyd; one from a 45 and the other three resulting from frees in Moycarkey back area as their defence battled hard against Moyne. For the next quarter Moycarkey settled more into the game and Moyne just managed to get two points, one of which was a shot which was lucky to hit the upright and rebound back in between the posts. The final score of the half went to Moycarkey’s Rory Ryan as the teams finished Moyne Templetuohy 0-7 Moycarkey Borris 0-2.

The intensity that Moyne showed in the first half had declined and the game ebbed and flowed from end to end. The first two points of the second half was for Moyne’s Odhran Lloyd with Tomás Hassett getting the third in the forty seventh minute. The margin had increased to eight points and the ninth was to come from Tom Meade in the fifty second minute. Both teams battled hard but Moycarkey for the final eight minutes set about regaining some of the deficit with a point from Rory Ryan in the fifty third minute which was followed in the next minute with a point from Tony Flanagan. The teams subsequently traded points before the final point of the game went to Rory Ryan. Moyne Templetuohy 0-12 Moycarkey Borris 0-6.

Moycarkey team - Daniel Kirby; Joe O’Sullivan, Paul Dempsey, Brian Moran; Kevin Moran, Christopher McCullagh, Pat Molloy; Pat Carey, Conor Hayes (Captain); Pat Ralph, Rory Ryan, Niall Heffernan; Michael Foley, Tony Flanagan, Niall O’Sullivan.
Scorers – Rory Ryan 0-3, Tony Flanagan 0-2, Pat Carey 0-1

Moyne Templetuohy team – Pat Meade; Joe Grady, Robert Larkin, David Lowe; Pierce Meade, Conor Quinlan, John Coghlan; Tomás Hassett, Niall Russell (Captain); Tom Meade, John Hassett, Diarmuid Fogarty; Louis Everard, Odhran Lloyd, Martin Kelly
Scorers – Odhran Lloyd 0-7 (4 frees), Tom Meade 0-2, John Hassett 0-1, Tomás Hassett 0-1, Martin Kelly 0-1

Referee – Tom McGrath