Match Reports‎ > ‎

Centenary Agri Mid Tipp Senior Hurling Championship - Moycarkey Borris 4-20 JK Brackens 0-16

posted 29 May 2016, 15:42 by Michelle Donnelly
The first game of the Centenary Agri Mid Senior Hurling Championship was played in Holycross between Moycarkey Borris and JK Brackens on Sunday last. Many expected this to be a tightly contested battle and the first half of the game was just that. In this first minute Shane Scully, JK Brackens opened the scoring with a pointed free. Tom Hayes and Pat Ralph opened Moycarkey’s scoring with a point each. Dean McEnroe, JK Brackens equalised on the fourth minute and the teams traded three points each before JK Brackens took the lead with two points as the game entered the second quarter. Two more Pat Ralph points to Shane Scully’s single point were added to the score line before Niall Heffernan raised the green flag. This goal gave Moycarkey the cushion they needed and also, the determination for the final seven minutes. Six more points for Moycarkey to JK Bracken’s four points meant Moycarkey Borris went in at half time Moycarkey 1-13 JK Brackens 0-12.

The second half started with a frenzy of scores in the second minute the first score was a Lyndon Fairbrother point for the Brackens, just before Kieran Morris netted the ball for Moycarkey followed quickly by a Shane Bourke point for the Brackens. The next Moycarkey score came in the fourth minute, a point from Pat Carey. Moycarkey received a free in the seventh minute and Pat Ralph’s rasper of a shot rattled the net, stretching Moycarkey’s lead to nine points. In the following ten minutes Moycarkey scored an unanswered two points, Tom Hayes and Kieran Morris and a goal by Conor Hayes. The teams traded two points each before Moycarkey added another two unanswered points, Brian Moran and Pat Carey. Moycarkey Borris 4-20 JK Brackens 0-16. Moycarkey Borris now progress to the Mid Semi Final.

Moycarkey Borris team - Bill McCormack; James Power, Paul Dempsey, Gerry McGuire; Daniel Kirby, Pat Molloy, Chris McCullagh; Rory O’Regan, Conor Hayes; Tom Hayes, Rory Ryan, Kieran Morris; Pat Ralph, Pat Carey, Niall Heffernan.
Scorers – Pat Ralph (1-6, 4 frees), Kieran Morris (1-4, 1 free), Niall Heffernan (1-1), Pat Carey (0-3), Conor Hayes (1-0), Tom Hayes (0-2), Pat Molloy (0-1), Chris McCullagh (0-1), Brian Moran (0-1), James O’Gorman (0-1)
Subs used - Brian Moran for Rory O’Regan (13th injured), James O’Gorman for Pat Ralph (40th injured), Anthony Healy for Tom Hayes (51st), Tom Hayes for Rory Ryan (60th)