Match Reports‎ > ‎

CM Signs Cahill Cup Semi Final - Moycarkey Borris 1-21 Upperchurch Drombane 0-17

posted 27 Aug 2016, 14:33 by Michelle Donnelly
On Friday evening last Moycarkey Borris hosted Upperchurch Drombane in the CM Signs Cahill Cup Semi Final and by mutual agreement both clubs played their Under 21 teams.

Even though hosted on home ground Upperchurch dominated the first five minutes with points from Niall Grant, Seamus Armstrong and Robert Murphy. In the fifth minute a pointed free by Niall Heffernan starting Moycarkey’s scoring and it was followed by a pointed free from Anthony McKelvey and two points from Mattie Ryan and Eoghan Hayes. In the tenth Niall Heffernan netted the ball stretching Moycarkey’s lead to four points. Another pointed free was traded with Upperchurch before Moycarkey hit another purple patch scoring four unanswered points before the twenty first minute. The sides traded two points in the next five minutes. Upperchurch scored three points to Moycarkey’s single point in the final five minutes of the first half leaving the half-time score - Moycarkey Borris 1-12 Upperchurch Drombane 0-9.

The opening ten minutes were Upperchurch’s with four points to Moycarkey’s two pointed frees from Niall Heffernan. Moycarkey’s Kevin O’Regan got the next two points to return the game to a six point margin. Upperchurch took control of the game again and for the next five minutes dominating on the score board with three points from Jack Butler and a point from Niall Grant bringing the game back to two points. In the forty ninth minute Kevin O’Regan pointed to keep the goal between the sides. In the final six minutes of the game of the Niall Heffernan single handed looked after the score board with three pointed frees and a single point from play to close the game at Moycarkey Borris 1-21 Upperchurch Drombane 0-17.

Moycarkey Borris team – David Ryan; John Cussen, Aidan Maher, Patrick Whelan; Rory Regan, Chris McCullagh, Eric Fanning; Tom Hayes (0-2, 2 frees), Eoghan Hayes (0-2); Kevin O’Regan (0-3), Niall Heffernan (1-9, 7 frees), Mattie Ryan (0-1); Joe Doran (0-1), Anthony McKelvey (0-3), JJ Darmody.
Subs – Mikie Bergin for John Cussen (20th), Ciaran Maher for Anthony McKelvey (h/t), Kieran Cummins for Mattie Ryan (34th), Donie Fitzpatrick for Joe Doran (45th)

Upperchurch Drombane team – David Carey; Ger Fogarty, ?, Nathan Delaney; Jason Jordan, Diarmuid Grant, PJ Bourke; Jack Butler (0-8, 5 frees), Paul Shanahan; Niall Grant (0-4), Seamus Armstrong (0-1), Robert Murphy (0-2); Daragh Carey Brennan, Dylan Sheridan, Ronan Gleeson (0-2).