Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Senior Hurling Challenge Cup - Moycarkey-Borris 1-18 Silvermines 0-13

posted 25 Mar 2016, 15:51 by Ed Donnelly
Moycarkey-Borris 1-18 Silvermines 0-13

Moycarkey-Borris secured a deserved victory over Silvermines in the County Senior Hurling Challenge Cup under lights at a windy Littleton on Friday night. Moycarkey had the aid of the strong wind in the first half and came out of the blocks strongly with pace, power and direct hurling to race in to an early lead. After points by Kieran Morris and Niall Heffernan, Tom Hayes raised a green flag after an excellent solo run. Further points from Morris (2), Heffernan, Rory O’Regan and Pa Carey were recorded before Silvermines opened their account with a point in the 12th minute. Further points from Morris (free) and Pat Ralph saw Moycarkey lead by 1-9 to 0-1 after the first quarter.

Silvermines to their credit, steadied the ship by packing their defence against the wind and limiting Moycarkey’s scoring chances to long range efforts, four of which went wide during the second quarter. With Jason Forde now operating to good effect at midfield, Silvermines scored five of the next seven points before Niall Heffernan finished the first half scoring with a Moycarkey point from play to leave the half-time score Moycarkey-Borris 1-12 Silvermines 0-6.

Kieran Morris set up Niall Heffernan for a Moycarkey point to open the second half scoring. Now with wind assistance, Silvermines were playing much better and scored four points on the trot, three from Jason Forde to reduce the deficit to six points. Four Jason Forde frees for Silvermines were countered by three Pat Ralph frees for Moycarkey during a 25 minute period where neither team scored from open play, a consequence of the domination of both defensive units in the second half. Silvermines created a couple of half chances for goal in the closing stages but the Moycarkey defence held firm. The game ended with points from play by Moycarkey sub John Kelly and Pat Ralph as the home side ran out winners by eight points, 1-18 to 0-13.

Moycarkey-Borris: Bill McCormack; Kevin Moran, James Power, Paul Dempsey; Daniel Kirby, James Bourke, Chris McCullagh (0-1); Gerry Maguire, Rory O’Regan (0-1); Ciaran Clohessy, Niall Heffernan (0-4), Pa Carey (0-1); Pat Ralph (0-6, 0-4 frees), Kieran Morris (0-4, 0-2 frees), Tom Hayes (1-0)
Subs: Conor Hayes for Clohessy (HT), Micheal Cussen for McCullagh (33m), John Kelly (0-1) for Carey (49m), Kieran Cummins for Kirby (54m)