Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Senior Hurling League Division 1 Final - Moycarkey-Borris 1-19 Holycross-Ballycahill 1-12

posted 18 Jul 2012, 07:38 by Unknown user
Moycarkey-Borris Crowned Division One Champions

By Cathal Ryan for the Tipperary Star newspaper

County Senior Hurling League Division 1 Final

Moycarkey-Borris 1-19 Holycross-Ballycahill 1-12

An imposing performance from Moycarkey Borris paved the path to victory on Saturday evening last in the Division 1 League Final in Littleton. Conditions were far from ideal as the recent swell of rain meant the pitch was heavy despite the fine evening.

The home side seized an early advantage after just six minutes when full forward Phil Kelly found the back of the net. Kelly arrived in the right place at the right time to finish after a tremendous burst from Pat Ralph.  As the exciting corner forward powered away from the opposition defence he fired a bullet shot of his left hand side only for his effort to be thwarted by an exceptional diving save from Tossy Lowry between the sticks for Holycross. As the keeper landed he was rendered powerless as Kelly was first to pounce on the rebound and finish to the net with a delicate flick.

Once Moycarkey forged this advantage they were never behind in the contest but as it seemed they were on course to cruise to victory Holycross mounted a revival to raise hope once more.  With six minutes left on the clock Stephen Ryan won possession in midfield and as he drove forward delivered a pin point accurate pass to Liam Dwan.  As he gathered possession Dwan held off the challenge of the defender and was through on goal. From close range the made no mistake lashing the ball home off his left hand side. A minute later a Donnacha Duggan point narrowed the gap to four and the stage seemed set for a grandstand finale to the game.

However Moycarkey sensed the danger and responded with a three point haul to close the match out.
Brian Moran landed the first of these after being picked out with a cross field pass from Patrick Carey before wing forward Carey turned from provider to scorer popping over off his left hand side. Kieran Morris rounded it off in the final minute pointing a free to seal a seven point winning margin.

Both these teams have very important championship games coming up as neither wants to be dragged into a relegation scrap so as for all teams entering into the opening round of the Seamus O Riain victory is vital. Positives can be drawn for both sides from this encounter, Moycarkey can look at the manner in which they cohesively defended as a unit and opened up in attack scoring well.

Holycross obviously will be disappointed with the loss, despite playing some good hurling in certain areas they need to work on creating and converting extra scoring opportunities in their forward unit.

There was a good tempo to this game right from the start as a Kieran Morris free and a point from the superb Ciaran Clohessy gave Moycarkey a lead within two minutes.  Holycross levelled through a beautifully executed long range Liam McCullagh point and a Jamie Woods score before the home side registered the opening goal through Kelly.

At this stage of the match that goal did not affect the rhythm of play for the men in green as they were level again before the quarter of an hour mark through a Dara Duggan score and two from Liam Dwan. In the second quarter Moycarkey found another gear outscoring their opponents eight points to three. Ciaran Clohessy executed with perfection contributing three from play in this period of his total five in a fine individual display leaving the half time score at 1-10 to 0-8.

The second half began at a slightly slower pace than what was on show in the first but John Dwyer moved up through the gears to point for Holycross and begin the attempted revival.  This comeback never materialised as the men in red and yellow had an answer to each question and score that was posed against them leaving captain Kevin Moran raise the League title for Moycarkey.

Moycarkey Borris: John Kelly; Niall O Sullivan, James Power, Kevin Moran (capt); Paul Dempsey, David Morris, Ailbe Power; Rory Ryan (0-1), Mossy Bracken; Pat Molloy (0-1), Ciaran Clohessy (0-5), Patrick Carey (0-2); Kieran Morris (0-8,5F,1-65), Phil Kelly (1-0), Pat Ralph (0-1). 
Subs: Brian Moran (0-1) for P. Molloy (39), David Sheppard for M. Bracken (47), Anthony Healy for P. Ralph (53), Robert Doran for P. Kelly (57).

Holycross Ballycahill: Toss Lowry; Pierce Stakelum, Jacko Doyle, Pa Dwyer; Cathal Barrett, Cathal Carroll, Stephen Ryan (0-1); Gary Byrne, Liam McCullagh (0-2); Donnacha Duggan (0-1), John Dwyer (0-1), Dara Duggan (0-1); Michael Harty, Liam Dwan (1-4, 0-3F), Jamie Woods (0-1). 
Subs: Patrick Stakelum (0-1, 1-65) for P. Dunne (17), Aidan Stakelum for Dara Duggan (25), Tomas Comerford for G. Byrne (41), Shane Moloney for M Harty (45), Tony Leahy for J Woods (53).

Referee: PJ Nolan