Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Under 18 C Camogie Championship Final - Moneygall 3-7 Moycarkey-Borris 2-7

posted 18 Nov 2012, 09:15 by Unknown user
Moneygall claim inaugural U18 ‘C’ title 

Moneygall 3-7 Moycarkey-Borris 2-7

Report by Rose Mannion from the Nenagh Guardian newspaper

Moneygall pulled through with three points to spare to beat Moycarkey in the first ever County U18 ‘C’ camogie final played on Saturday last.

This is the first season where the County Board introduced the U18 “C’ championship (13 aside) and what a game it turned out to be between two very evenly matched sides who gave it every ounce of energy on a sticky pitch, which is showing the signs of major overuse in recent weeks.

It was a game of two halves where apart from an early goal from Moneygall, Moycarkey dominated for long periods of the first half and led by two points at the break. However, a more determined effort coupled with a lucky goal saw the girls in red and black turn the game in their favour over the final ten minutes and ran out winners.

Moneygall got the best possible start when Shauna Kirwan broke away with the ball and managed to work the ball to Leanne Larkin and she found the back of the net after three minutes.  Moycarkey’s reply came within a minute when Michaela Graham split the uprights from a placed ball. However, it was short lived as Mairead Teehan tagged on a further two points, both coming from frees. 

Although Moycarkey shot three consecutive wide over the following nine minutes, they dominated possession and made full use of the ball over a twelve minute spell where the Moneygall backs came under huge pressure. Michaela Graham and Marianne Murphy were fast and accurate and were crucifying the Moneygall defence with Murphy adding 1-3 and Graham adding 1-1 to put the Mid Tipp side firmly in control.

Moneygall showed great character to fight back through the industrious Mairead Teehan who kept them in touch with a free after Laura Ralph fouled Monica Kirwan. Then a lucky break came just seconds before the break when Mairead Teehan’ mis-hit free found the back of net, deceiving the defense and keeper and Moneygall trailed by just two points at the break.

Moneygall started the second half like they did the first with Mairead Teehan going for goal but Moycarkey netminder Michelle Sheppard made a great save but she didn’t get a chance to clear as sub Claire Hogan (just back training after been out through illness for most of the summer), pulled on the ground and despite Sheppard’s recovering effort to block, the ball rolled over the line for Moneygall’s third goal.

Mairead Teehan quickly added a point when she came away from a pile up from the puck out, and fired over her shoulder.  Moycarkey’s had a number of opportunities but the Moneygall defence held firm until Michaela Graham twice raised the white flag, the second from a free which brought the sides level. 

With the excitement building, a draw looked possible as both wasted chances but Moycarkey were depending largely on Michaela Graham and Marianne Murphy who didn’t disappoint. However, Moneygall had that little extra with Stephanie Kenny, Catriona Doughan, Mairead Teehan prominent and when Emer Teehan was introduced, she made a significant difference also.

Mairead Teehan nudged Moneygall back in front from a free with seven minutes remaining. Katie Bergin and Laura Ralph worked hard to save Moycarkey but after Monica Kirwan and Catriona Doohan worked the ball in, Mairead Teehan’s great effort put two between the sides.

Moneygall pulled three clear to win the title after Marianne Murphy fouled a rampant Teehan, who converted the resulting free as the referee called time.
Match Digest Player of the Match: Mairead Teehan (Moneygall). Scorers - Moneygall: Mairead Teehan 1-7, 1-5 frees; Leanne Larkin, Claire Hogan 1-0 each. Moycarkey: Michaela Graham 1-4, 0-3 frees; Marianne Murphy 1-3.

Moneygall: Emer Ryan; Roisín Ryan (Capt), Emma Healy; Aoife Flaherty, Stephanie Kenny, Monica Kirwan; Catriona Doughan, Shauna Kirwan; Mairead Teehan, Grace Toohey, Gráinne Ryan; Margaret Cleary, Leanne Larkin. SUBS: Emer Teehan for Cleary; Claire Hogan for G Ryan.

Moycarkey: Michelle Sheppard; Katie Bergin, Laura Ralph; Nora Connolly (Capt), Ann Connolly, Jade Beason; Katherine Connolly, Maria Kinnane; Chloe Shelly, Michaela Graham, Marianne Murphy; Hannah Ralph, Bernie Bergin.

Referee: Tadgh Whelan (Kilruane MacDonaghs).