Match Reports‎ > ‎

Cumann na mBunscol Under 13 C Hurling Final - Moycarkey NS 3-6 Kildangan NS 1-12

posted 8 Jun 2013, 15:57 by Unknown user
Friday 7th June VENUE: Semple Stadium 

U-13 C Hurling Moycarkey 3-6 Kildangan 1-12

Referee: Christy McLoughlin

Just past midday on the second day of the Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol inter-schools county hurling finals and it was clear from the intensity of both emerging players and the crowds in the stand that this would be one of the most impressive finals of the season. Kyle Shelly opened the game with a spectacular point for Moycarkey. This was followed in quick succession by yet another Shelly point as well as one from John Kirwan. Moycarkey were looking to dominate from the onset. Kildangan were not going to give Moycarkey all their own way however, as Marc O’Glaisáin scored their first point from a free which was quickly followed by a point from Seán O’Meara. It was to be Moycarkey who proved the dominant side in the first half with John Kirwan driving home a goal while John Coffey volleyed a superb point past the Kildangan defence. As the second half opened up Seán Ó hAodha set the pace getting a free almost instantaneously for Kildangan and set the pace for his side. Conor Ó Catháin was quick to follow first with a goal and then a point. Moycarkey came back hard with some impressive saves by the goalie, Rhys Shelly. Rhys Shelly is definitely a star of the future and his cat-like reflexes were reminiscent of a young Brendan Cummins. 

With the sun blinding him in the second half, he certainly could not be faulted for any of the Kildangan goals. These were backed up by a determined backline and several quick points by John Kirwan, Zack Jackson, John Coffey and Kyle Shelly to bring Moycarkey right back into the game. Two late Kildangan goals by Marc O’Glaisáin and John Mac Craith levelled the scoreline. With the clock fast running out it was anyone’s match as both sides were even in skill and determination. The ball lingered in the Moycarkey half for what seemed like an eternity for their supporters. After working the ball furiously up the pitch however, Moycarkey were blocked down by a fierce Kildangan backline. As the final whistle this titanic battle ended in a draw. After such a hard fought contest it was well deserved. Both sides will now hold the trophy with pride for six months. The next clash will be the coin toss to see who gets it first! 

Moycarkey National School Under 13 Roinn C Hurling Team: 1. Rhys Shelly, 2. Brendan Looby, 3. Brian O’Callaghan, 4. Dean O’Brien, 5. Dylan Shaw, 6. Bill Maher, 7. John Kirwan, 8. Zach Jackson, 9. John Coffey, 10. Stephen Fitzpatrick, 11. Kyle Shelly, 12. Aidan Scott, 13. Ben O’Dwyer, 14. Daniel Brown, 15. Bill O’Keefe, 16. Sean Kavanagh, 17. Daragh Fitzgibbon, 18. Patrick Doyle, 19. Kieran Carew, 20. Robert O’Donoghue, 20. Dylan Stapleton. 
Principal: Ms Lucy McGann. Coaches: Elaine Brady & Kevin O’Riordan 

Kildangan U13 Roinn C Hurling Team: 1.Daniel O Dálaigh, 2.Darragh de Buitléir, 3.Cathal O Riain, 4.Caitríona Ní Fhógartaigh, 5.John MacCraith, 6.Seán O hAodha, 7.Medhbh Ní Riain, 8.Seán MacThréinéir, 9.Conor O Cathláin, 10.Seán O Meadhra, 11Marc O Gliasáin,(captaen), 12.Stiophán O Maolmhichíl, 13.Roibeard O Cléirigh, 14.Aoife Ní Shearcaigh, 15Grace Ní Chonnachtaigh, 16.Neil O Cathalláin, 17.Noel O Gliasáin, 18.Seán O Conghaile, 19.Aodhán O Riain, 20.Eoin O Briain, 21.Cian O Riain, 22.Dylan Mac An Ridire, 23.Darragh O Riain, 24.Jack O Duibhir, 
Príomhoide: Paul O Dulaoich, Coaches: Niall McGrath and Eoin Butler.