Match Reports‎ > ‎

Doran Oil U14C Mid Tipperary Hurling Final - Moycarkey-Borris B 1-7 Thurles Gaels 1-5

posted 24 Aug 2014, 13:20 by Ed Donnelly
Doran Oil U14C Mid Tipperary Hurling Final

Moycarkey-Borris (B) 1-7 Thurles Gaels 1-5

In what was arguably the best U14C final for many a year, Moycarkey-Borris and Thurles Gaels produced a terrific final in the Doran Oil sponsored championship in Littleton last Saturday with the home side just about shading it on the day despite the tenacious display from the Thurles lads.

This was a game that had everything; passion, heart and skill, where the amount of blocking, shouldering and tackles made all accounted for a superb afternoon’s entertainment.

Into the wind Gaels were straight into attack with Ronan McGuire opening the scoring with a point in the second minute. Almost immediately his through ball found Brian O’Halloran who smartly turned his marker and hit the net from close range. Moycarkey responded with two wides before Aidan Scott got his side on the board with a delightful point from out on the right. Minutes later the excellent Daniel Brown put over a placed ball before Scott got his second. Gaels fought back and though Alan Heaney tried hard he saw a brace of efforts go wide of the posts either side of a point from O’Halloran who shot over from an acute angle. Gaels were pressing hard through Aaron Delaney and Heaney but the Moycarkey backs were equal to the challenge with Seán Mockler growing in stature as the game progressed as were Pat and Bill Hackett, with Michael O’Donnell doing efficient work in the corner. However, up front Brown was pulling the strings and was orchestrating the ‘Borris attack to good effect, narrowing the score to one with another free from out on the sideline.

Henry Fogarty working beaverishly up front for Gaels was rewarded with a point as he put his side two ahead on sixteen minutes. As each side raised the intensity Brown and Mockler for Moycarkey and Delaney and Shane Ryan for Gaels were central to each sides play. Brown it was who gained parity with points from play and a free to leave it a tremendous battle for the last five minutes of the half as the impetus swung either way without a score to show for it, half time score then reading Moycarkey 0-6 Gaels 1-3.

The second half began where the first left off but crucially for Moycarkey it was they who got the all important scores. John Coffey sprang into life in the second half and opened the scoring with a point after five minutes. Three minutes later Brown hit the back of the Gaels net with a sweet ground strike to the bottom left hand corner, his side four clear. The half was ten minutes old when McGuire worked well infield from the sideline to put three between them with a point from play. And when Delaney put over a placed ball on twelve minutes it was only two between them now and as much time left to go. Amazing as it seems that was to be the last score of the match as the Moycarkey defence led by Mockler, the Hackett’s further out soaked up an enormous amount of ball as Gaels put their every ounce of effort into attack. Brown and Coffey were trying their utmost as well to try and get scores but Gaels were quelling everything now too.

Gaels did have their chances but Ciarán Kirwan kept his line brilliantly intact in the second period denying almost certain goals from Heaney and Chris Munroe. The wide count in the latter stages would prove to be the Gaels achilles heel as they shot seven to Moycarkey’s one, Moycarkey holding out to win by two in the end.

In the presentation ceremony, Seamus Doran of Doran Oil, together with his brother David were on hand with Joe O’Sullivan, Mid Coiste na nÓg Chairman, to present the cup to winning captain Bill Hackett much to the delight of his sides faithful supporters.

Moycarkey-Borris; Ciarán Kirwan, Michael O’Donnell, Brendan Looby, Michael Maher, Brian O’Callaghan, Seán Mockler, Pat Hackett, Bill Hackett (C), John Coffey 01, Daniel Brown 1-04 (03f), Tom Maher, Aidan Scott 02, Shane Bourke, Subs; Dylan Shaw, Ben O’Dwyer, also, Liam McDonagh, Diarmuid Maher, Jack Morrissey.

Thurles Gaels; Paudie O’Gorman, Martin Reilly, Chris Munroe, Shane Ryan (C), Jack Murphy, Aaron Delaney 01f, Kevin Patan, Oscar Lipinski, Alan Heaney, Dylan Molumby, Ronan McGuire 02, Brian O’Halloran 1-01, Henry Fogarty 01, Subs used; Thomas Grimes, Thomas Stokes, David McCormack, also, Neil Holland, Mark Murphy, Gary Delaney, Taylor O’Meara, James Butler, Dominic O’Shaughnessy.

Referee; P.J. Nolan (Killea)