Match Reports‎ > ‎

Eamon Darmody Turf Care Mid Tipperary Under 16 A Hurling Final - Durlas Óg 3-18 Moycarkey-Borris 2-14

posted 2 Sep 2017, 15:09 by Michelle Donnelly
Durlas Óg 3-18 Moycarkey-Borris 2-14
Report by Ed Donnelly
Moycarkey-Borris lost out to Durlas Óg by seven points in the Eamon Darmody Turf Care Mid Under 16 A Hurling Final before a large attendance at a showery Littleton on Saturday afternoon.

Durlas Óg played with wind advantage in the first half and got the opening two scores courtesy of Jack Lanigan and Joe Dwan points from play. Moycarkey soon got in to the game and a long clearance found Darren Flood who gathered possession and scored the opening goal of the game. Moycarkey consolidated their position by scoring four of the next five points courtesy of Flood (3) and Max Hackett to take a four point lead after 15 minutes, 1-4 to 0-3.

This advantage was short lived when Moycarkey failed to clear their lines and Liam McCormack took full advantage to raise a green flag. Flood and Hackett replied with points from play for Moycarkey-Borris who led by two points after 20 minutes. The final 10 minutes of the opening half belonged completely to Durlas Óg who dominated possession and scored six points without reply. Darren Flood completed the first half scoring with a pointed free leaving the half-time score at 1-10 to 1-7 in favour of the Thurles side.

Moycarkey now had wind advantage in the second half and needed to make a good start. However, instead it was Durlas Óg who outscored their opponents by 2-3 to 0-1 in the opening 15 minutes, the Durlas Óg goals coming courtesy of Darragh Stakelum and Liam McCormack to stretch their advantage to 11 points heading in to the final quarter.

Moycarkey to the credit kept up the pressure and were rewarded with a Kyle Shelly goal in the 46th minute to reduce the deficit to seven points. The closing stages were quite even with Durlas Óg continuing to pick off their points while keeping the Moycarkey forwards at bay by not conceding any further goals and by the end, Durlas Óg were deserving winners by 3-18 to 2-14.

Moycarkey-Borris: Liam McDonagh; Robbie Keane Butler, Michael O’Donnell, Thomas Whelan; Dylan Shaw, Peter Melbourne, Kyle Ryan; Kevin Hayes, Lewis Kearney; Shane Burke, Max Hackett (Captain, 0-2), Liam Hayes; Kyle Shelly (1-0), Darren Flood (1-12, 0-7 frees), Eoin Sheridan
Subs: John Coffey for Burke (44m), Jack O’Dwyer for Sheridan (44m), Andrew Alexander for Hayes (50m), Tom Maher for Keane Butler (54m)