Match Reports‎ > ‎

Thurles Credit Union Mid Tipp Minor A Hurling Championship - Holycross/Ballycahill 3-27 Moycarkey-Borris 0-10

posted 8 Sep 2016, 04:32 by Michelle Donnelly   [ updated 8 Sep 2016, 04:34 ]
Holycross-Ballycahill eased in to the Mid Minor A Hurling Final with a facile 26 point victory over Moycarkey-Borris at Boherlahan. Holycross played with the strong wind in the opening half and blitzed Moycarkey in the early stages with four points in the opening four minutes. When Darragh Woods struck a 20 metre free to the top of the net in the fifth minute, the writing was on the wall for Moycarkey and by the 10th minute, the score was 1-11 to 0-0 with wing-forward Darragh Woods contributing 1-7 of the 1-11 tally. Moycarkey were now employing a sweeper to lessen the damage being inflicted and this had an immediate impact as Holycross only added 1 point to their tally over the next 12 minutes. Meanwhile, Moycarkey got off the mark with a Jack Fallon point from play in the 15th minute.

Holycross were not to be denied for long however and soon the scoreboard began to ramp up at an alarming pace, as the leaders rattled off another 1-6 in the final 8 minutes of the first half with the solitary reply from Moycarkey being a pointed free from Anthony McKelvey to leave the half-time score – 2-18 to 0-2.

With the result not in doubt, Moycarkey looked to redeem some measure of respectability early in the second half as they now played with wind assistance. The early stages of the third quarter were promising as points from Jack Fallon and Anthony McKelvey (2) were matched by three Holycross points in the opening ten minutes of the second half. Any hopes of a sustained second half performance for Moycarkey evaporated in the 40th minute when Darragh Woods scored his second goal from a 20 metre free to put Holycross in to a 3-22 to 0-5 lead.

The tempo of the game dropped considerably from here and the teams shared the final 10 points as the game petered out to its inevitable conclusion – Holycross-Ballycahill 3-27 Moycarkey-Borris 0-10.

Moycarkey-Borris: Jack Bryan; Philip Ryan, Kieran Kearney, David O’Donnell; Sean O’Meara, Zach Jackson, Michael Murphy; Donal Fitzpatrick, John Cussen; Kevin O’Regan, Eoin Hayes, Jack Fallon (0-2); Darren Flood, Anthony McKelvey (0-7, 0-3 frees), John Kirwan
Subs; Caolin O’Brien for Kirwan (42m), Shane Maher (0-1) for Fitzpatrick (48m), Tom Ryan for Cussen (50m) and Mark Heffernan for Flood (56m)

Holycross-Ballycahill: Ewan Bourke; James Ryan, Philip Fogarty, Frank Hanafin; David Manning, Edward O’Gorman, Gavin Dunne (0-2); Bryan O’Mara (0-3), Fionn McCartan, Darragh Woods (2-16, 2-10 frees), Mikie Nally (0-1), Alex Murphy; Jack Dwan, Stephen Flanagan (0-4), David Croke (1-1)

Referee: Liam Shanahan (Upperchurch-Drombane)