Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Tipperary Junior B Football Final - Moycarkey-Borris vs. Upperchurch-Drombane - Match Report

posted 23 Jan 2011, 10:50 by Unknown user   [ updated 23 Jan 2011, 10:53 ]
Mid Tipperary Junior B Football Final - Moycarkey Borris 1-10 Upperchurch Drombane 1-9

- Report By Cathal Ryan

- A single point was all that separated the sides at the end of an entertaining Junior B Football Final on Wednesday evening under the floodlights in Templetuohy as Moycarkey prevailed despite a late Upperchurch rally. 
Trailing at half time Moycarkey re-emerged with a more pace and direction to their play and they got their crucial score in the 40th minute of the game when moving at pace Eamon Flanagan received a pass from Phil Kelly sixty yards from goal. The marauding midfielder soloed and powered over the ground until he burst inside the 21 yard line and kicked a blazing right footed effort passed the goalkeeper and to the back of the net. Moycarkey extended their lead to five points with only five minutes remaining on the clock but Upperchurch showed great character to react with a final surge. Johnny Butler pointed a free in the 57th minute and with another attack moments later Upperchurch earned a penalty amid a crowded square for midfielder Paul Ryan to step up to finish high to keepers left. This set up an exciting finish as both sides tussled frantically for possession but in Upperchurch desperation they gave away a couple of crucial frees in the middle of the field. This gave Moycarkey the chance to take the sting out of the game and endeavour to work a couple of chances that proved fruitless to the scoreboard but kept the pressure at a distance from their own goal.

This victory will delight the Moycarkey club as this is their first year to enter a side into this competition and they have now won football titles in both the Junior ‘A’ and ‘B’ this year. Upperchurch will be disappointed to let the momentum that they had in the first half slip after the restart where they failed to manufacture a score from play in the second half. The match started slowly with both teams failing score find their targets with passes and it took seven minutes before the deadlock was broken with a free from Upperchurch midfielder Paul Ryan. Pat Purcell added a second point in the following minutes with Moycarkey failing to register until the 12th minute when Kieran Morris sailed a left footed effort over the crossbar after a receiving a pass from centre forward Michael Roche. Eamon Flanagan levelled the tie up with a fantastic 40 yard effort but from this point forward Upperchurch took control for the first half. Paul Ryan’s free taking and a right footed effort from play along with a fine score from veteran full forward Michael Ryan left the men in black and amber leading by 0-6 to 0-3 at half time.

The opening minutes of the second half seen both sides trade a score from frees but Moycarkey then raised the tempo especially in their attack where they moved the ball quicker and created space for shooting far better than in earlier attacks. This culminated in scores from Willie Dempsey, Mossy Bracken, Kieran Morris with two and another pair from full forward Phil Kelly as well as the all-important goal from Eamon Flanagan. Upperchurch tried in vain to pull back the deficit leaving Moycarkey with the one point victory and captain Eoin Cantwell receiving the cup on behalf of the victorious side.

Moycarkey Borris: John Shortall; Niall Sullivan, Peter O Brien, Kieran Shortall; Eoin Cantwell, Brian Moran, Gerry Maguire; Eamon Flanagan (1-1), Mossy Bracken (0-1); Willie Dempsey (0-1), Michael Roche (0-2,2F), Pat Ralph; Kieran Morris (0-3), Phil Kelly (0-2), James Power.

Upperchurch Drombane: Paudie Hayes; JJ Kinane, LT Ryan, Neil Ryan; John Carey, Jody Brennan, Ailbe Donaghue; Paul Ryan (1-6, 1-0 Pen, 0-5F), Stephen Gleeson; Colm Kennedy, Johnny Butler (0-1,1F), Ciaran Shortt; Martin Burke, Michael Ryan (0-1), Pat Phelan (0-1). Subs: Seamus Armstrong for M. Burke (43), John Ryan ‘Patsy’ for Neil Ryan (49).

Referee: John Kelly (Thurles Gaels)