Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Tipperary Minor A Football Championship - Holycross Ballycahill 1-9 Moycarkey Borris 1-8

posted 5 May 2016, 15:40 by Michelle Donnelly
On Thursday last Moycarkey Borris hosted Holycross Ballycahill in the Mid Tipperary Minor A Football Championship. Holycross opened the scoring within the first minute with a point and successfully added another point and goal before Moycarkey opened their scoring in the twelfth minute. This opening score was from a penalty taken by Anthony McKelvey, which hit the bar and continued over for a point. In the following two minutes Donal Fitzpatrick added another point and reduced the margin to the goal entering the next quarter. Both teams battled hard and Holycross continued to add a further four points to their score line to Moycarkey’s single point to go in at half time, Holycross Ballycahill 1-6 Moycarkey Borris 0-3. 

As the second half whistle blew Moycarkey took possession from the throw in and passed the ball straight into Kevin O’Regan who rattled the net to bring Moycarkey back into the game. Holycross replied with a point but in response Anthony McKelvey pointed a free. Moycarkey hit a purple patch and added a further three points; Anthony McKelvey (2) and Kevin O’Regan (1). With the score board on equal scores Anthony McKelvey’s next point put Moycarkey ahead for the first time in the game. As the game entered the final quarter Moycarkey had to even more to do as this was a must win game for Moycarkey to progress. Unfortunately, Holycross got the final two scores finishing the game, Holycross Ballycahill 1-9 Moycarkey Borris 1-8 

Moycarkey team – Jack Bryan; Sean O’Meara, Eoghan Ryan, Kieran Kearney; Philip Ryan, Eoghan Hayes, Donal Fitzpatrick; Jack Fallon, Jack Hackett; Shane Maher, Kevin O’Regan, John Kirwan; Darren Flood, Hugh Scanlon, Anthony McKelvey.
Scorers:- Anthony McKelvey (0-5), Kevin O’Regan (1-2), Donal Fitzpatrick (0-1).
Subs used:- Rory Darmody for Sean O’Meara (2nd, injury), Conor Maher for Hugh Scanlon (12th), Conor Moore for Philip Ryan (55th)