Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Tipperary Under 21 B Football Championship - Moycarkey-Borris 3-7 MTT Gaels 0-3

posted 12 Feb 2016, 14:54 by Ed Donnelly   [ updated 12 Feb 2016, 14:59 ]

Moycarkey-Borris 3-7 MTT Gaels 0-3

Moycarkey-Borris won their second game in the Mid Under 21 Football Championship courtesy of a comfortable 13 point victory over a Moyne-Templetuohy / Thurles Gaels combination under lights in Littleton on Friday night.

In a low scoring first half, Paddy Maher opened the scoring on six minutes with a point for Moycarkey-Borris. A Jack Hackett point in the 15th minute was cancelled out by two Moyne Gaels points as the sides were level after 20 minutes. Moyne Gaels took the lead with a point in the 26th minute before the turning point of the game. Jack Hackett had missed an earlier goal chance but made no mistake in the 28th minute, raising a green flag with a shot to the roof of the net. Anthony McKelvey added a pointed free on the stroke of half-time to leave Moycarkey-Borris in front by 1-3 to 0-3 at the interval.

The second half began with Anthony McKelvey converting two frees before Jack Hackett put clear daylight between the teams with his second goal in the 40th minute. When Anthony McKelvey scored his teams’s third goal in the 45th minute, the game was over as a contest. Moycarkey emptied the bench at this stage and it was one of the substitutes Jesse McKenna who was fouled with the goal at his mercy at the expense of a penalty. On a hat-trick, Jack Hackett saw his penalty well saved by the Moyne Gaels goalkeeper. The final quarter saw just two further points, both from play by Anthony McKelvey as Moyne Gaels failed to register a score in the second half.

Before the game, both teams paid their respects with a minutes silence for the late Sean Doran RIP.

Moycarkey Borris team and scorers:- Jack Bryan; Mikie Bergin, Aidan Maher, John Cussen; Mattie Ryan, Kieran Cummins, Eoghan Hayes; Tom Hayes, Rory O’Regan; Niall Heffernan, Jack Hackett (2-1), Micheal Foley; Kevin O’Regan, Anthony McKelvey (1-5, 0-3 frees), Paddy Maher (0-1)

Subs used:- JJ Darmody for Paddy Maher, Philly Ryan for John Cussen, Jesse McKenna for Anthony McKelvey, Tom Murphy for Kevin O’Regan, Eoin Ryan for Jack Hackett