Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Tipperary Under 21 B Football Championship Final - Moycarkey Borris 3-12 Gortnahoe Glengoole 1-7

posted 13 Mar 2016, 15:41 by Michelle Donnelly
In spite of their being almost a month to the day since Moycarkey’s last game in this competition, the wait was worth it when Moycarkey Borris Captain, Aidan Maher was presented with the Joe O’Grady Cup on Sunday last in Holycross. Both teams had met previously in the round games and Moycarkey Borris had defeated Gortnahoe Glengoole by five points.

Moycarkey opened the scoring in the first minute with a point from Anthony McKelvey. Gortnahoe’s two pointed frees meant that Rory O’Regan’s point in the seventh minute equalised the game. Anthony McKelvey raised the green flag for Moycarkey in the tenth minute however the margin was short lived as five minutes later Gortnahoe equalised again. As the game entered the second quarter Gortnahoe looked to score another goal a ball dropped short in the hands of Moycarkey’s John Cussen and he delivered it out securely. Points were traded later as both teams battled it out in the centre of the field. In injury time Moycarkey’s Niall Heffernan and Jack Hackett scored a point and goal respectively before the whistle was blown to go in Moycarkey Borris 2-5 Gortnahoe Glengoole 1-3

As the second half recommenced scoring remained tight with the two teams swapping two points in the first twelve minutes. Soon after his introduction, JJ Darmody placed the ball in the back of the net to increase Moycarkey’s margin to nine points. In the final quarter of the game Moycarkey dominated the play around the field and on the score board. They added a further five points to Gortnahoe’s two points ensuring Moycarkey’s title, Mid Tipperary Under 21 B Champions. Moycarkey Borris 3-12 Gortnahoe Glengoole 1-7. Aidan Maher received the Joe O’Grady Cup from Jonathan Cullen, Vice Chairman of Mid Tipperary Board and he thanked the team and management. He also, thanked Holycross Ballycahill GAA Club for the use of their excellent facilities and Gortnahoe Glengoole for the competitive game.

Moycarkey Team:- Jack Bryan; Mikie Bergin, Aidan Maher (Captain), John Cussen; Eoghan Hayes, Chris McCullagh, Mattie Ryan; Kieran Cummins, Tom Hayes; Kevin O'Regan, Niall Heffernan, Micheal Foley; Jack Hackett, Rory O'Regan, Anthony McKelvey
Scorers:- Anthony McKelvey (1-5, 0-1 free), Jack Hackett (1-1), JJ Darmody (1-0), Micheal Foley (0-2), Kieran Cummins (0-1), Niall Heffernan (0-1), Paddy Maher (0-1), Rory O'Regan (0-1),
Subs Used:- Paddy Maher for Rory O’Regan (14th min); JJ Darmody for Kevin O’Regan (38th min); Eric Fanning for Paddy Maher (41st min); Conor Moore for Kieran Cummins and Philip Ryan for John Cussen (58th min)