Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Under 21 A Hurling Championship Losers Group - Moyne-Templetuohy Og 0-13 Moycarkey-Borris 0-12

posted 22 Oct 2012, 14:57 by Unknown user
Moycarkey-Borris slumped out of the Mid Under 21 A Hurling Championship with a one point defeat at the hands of a more determined and direct Moyne-Templetuohy Og team on Sunday afternoon at Templemore. With a starting line-up which included 9 players who had played Senior Championship for the club this year, expectations were high for Moycarkey-Borris to have a prolonged run in this year’s competition. On the other hand, Moyne-Templetuohy Og had lost to Clonakenny / Moneygall on the previous weekend. 

When the match got underway, Moyne got off to the better start and led by 3 points early on. Moycarkey pulled Rory O’Regan out around midfield to counteract Moyne’s early advantage in this area and after 20 minutes, Moycarkey had taken the lead by 0-6 to 0-5. As it turned out, it was the only lead for Moycarkey during the entire match as Moyne scored two points coming up to half-time to lead by 0-7 to 0-6 at the interval.

Moyne extended their lead early in the second half before Moycarkey forward Peter Kinane received a straight red card for a reckless challenge. Moycarkey were now as sixes and sevens as Moyne extended their lead to 0-10 to 0-6 after 38 minutes. To their credit, despite being down to 14 men, Moycarkey gradually got back in to the game and on 3 separate occasions, reduced the deficit to just a single point. However, Moyne always had an answer and managed to keep their noses in front with some last ditch defending and at the final whistle, Moyne were declared one point winners.

Moycarkey-Borris: David Ryan; Geoff Fallon, James Power (Captain), Michael Cussen; Niall O'Sullivan, Pat Molloy, James Bourke (0-1 free); Joe O'Sullivan (0-1), Mossy Bracken; Pat Ralph (0-4 frees), Peter Kinane, Ailbe Power (0-3); John Bergin, Stephen Kirwan, Rory O’Regan (0-3)
Subs: Donie Bergin for Kirwan, Aidan Maher for Cussen