Match Reports‎ > ‎

Ó Riain Cup Final - Moycarkey-Borris 1-18 Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams 0-13

posted 25 Oct 2011, 14:43 by Unknown user
Kieran Morris Stars In Ó Riain Cup Final

By Brian McDonnell at Semple Stadium

Ó Riain Cup Final

Moycarkey-Borris 1-18 Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams 0-13

Moycarkey-Borris, featuring a brilliant display from Kieran Morris, claimed the Seámus Ó Riain Cup thanks to an eight-point win over Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams at Semple Stadium, Thurles on Sunday afternoon.
Although the final margin of victory flattered Moycarkey-Borris a little they were deserving winners and always looked comfortable against a Knockavilla side who struggled to really trouble the men from the Mid.
Centre-back Pat Molloy and forward Kieran Morris represented the key men for a Moycarkey-Borris team who had established a vital three-point buffer by the interval - 1-8 to 0-8. Moycarkey-Borris then successfully managed to keep Knockavilla at arm’s length until the 52nd minute before the Conor Gleeson-coached side surged to the finishing line and hit Knockavilla for a devastating five points without reply - Kieran Morris helped himself to four of these vital scores.

Although the sides shared 26 wides (Moycarkey-Borris 15, Knockavilla 11) this game proved an entertaining affair with early points from Anthony Healy and a Kieran Morris free helping Moycarkey-Borris into a 0-2 to no-score lead. Paddy Ryan then made a good save to deny Robert Doran a goal before Peter Comerford got Knockavilla off the mark. A fine turn and shot from Fergal Horgan locked the sides at 0-2 apiece in the 11th minute before Moycarkey-Borris struck for the crucial goal - from a puck-out the ball was worked to Robert Doran who drew the full-back before passing to Anthony Healy whose careful finish forced Moycarkey-Borris into a 1-2 to 0-2 lead.
Knockavilla responded in positive fashion when Johnny Ryan picked out Fergal Horgan and Horgan landed a point which cut the deficit to two points. Knockavilla then reduced the margin to a single point in the 14th minute when right wing-back Damien McGrath landed a great point.

Moycarkey-Borris struck back when a searing Pat Ralph run created the room for Kieran Morris to fire his side into a 1-3 to 0-4 lead. A highly-motivated Knockavilla however responded with a long-range free from Patrick O’Brien and a neat Johnny Ryan point to level matters by the 17th minute - 1-3 to 0-6.

Knockavilla then spurned a vital opportunity to take the lead before Moycarkey-Borris seized the initiative thanks to a fine Brian Moran point in the 18th minute. Two minutes later Moran struck once more before a Ciarán Clohessy point in the 22nd minute helped Moycarkey-Borris into a 1-6 to 0-6 lead.

A Johnny Ryan free reined in Moycarkey-Borris somewhat, but a Pat Ralph point re-established that vital three-point buffer. In the first minute of first half injury time Kieran Morris fired his side into a four-point lead and while David Butler managed a response for Knockavilla it appeared as if Moycarkey-Borris, having faced the breeze in the opening half, were now, well and truly, in the driving seat - 1-8 to 0-8.

A long-range point from David Butler opened the second half in encouraging fashion for Knockavilla, but Moycarkey-Borris responded with points from Patrick Carey, Kieran Morris and Robert Doran - 1-11 to 0-9. David Butler smacked over his third point from play in the 35th minute and Fergal Horgan drew a fine save from Moycarkey-Borris’ John Kelly before points from Johnny Ryan (free) and Peter Comerford reduced the deficit to manageable proportions (0-12 to 1-11) by the 41st.

Five minutes later John Bergin was pulled down for a free, which Kieran Morris converted, before a Johnny Ryan free closed the gap to two points once more in the 49th minute - 0-13 to 1-12. Knockavilla, however, would not score for the remainder of this encounter as Moycarkey-Borris surged toward the finishing line. A Patrick Carey point opened that vital three-point gap once more in the 51st minute before Kieran Morris emerged as a devastating force.

Morris fired Moycarkey-Borris into a four-point lead in the 53rd minute, a five-point lead with a terrific left-handed effort in the 55th minute, a six-point lead in the 56th minute and then a seven-point lead in the 57th minute. Seconds later Pat Ralph completed the scoring for a Moycarkey-Borris team who then fired four consecutive wides in a disappointing finish.

Moycarkey-Borris: John Kelly, James Power, Paul Dempsey, David Morris, Rory Ryan, Pat Molloy, Willie Dempsey (captain), Patrick Carey (0-2), Brian Moran (0-2), Robert Doran (0-1), Phil Kelly, Pat Ralph (0-2), Ciarán Clohessy (0-1), Kieran Morris (0-9, 0-2 frees), Anthony Healy (1-1). Subs: John Bergin for Phil Kelly (42), Ailbe Power for Anthony Healy (50), James Bourke for Ciarán Clohessy (55), Kevin Moran for Rory Ryan (57), Lorcan Ryan for David Morris (60).

Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams: Paddy Ryan, Michael Shanahan (captain), Brian Horgan, Cathal Morrissey, Damien McGrath (0-1), Eoin Carew, Patrick O’Brien (0-1, 0-1 free), David Butler (0-3), Tommy Comerford, Johnny Ryan (0-4, 0-3 frees), Daniel Breen, Paudie Slattery, Patrick Ryan, Fergal Horgan (0-2), Peter Comerford (0-2). Subs: Aidan Heaney for Tommy Comerford (HT), Niall O’Brien for Johnny Ryan (53).

Referee: Paddy Ivors (Ballingarry).