Match Reports‎ > ‎

Seamus O'Riain Cup Final - Moycarkey-Borris 3-22 Boherlahan-Dualla 0-11

posted 4 Sep 2012, 14:37 by Unknown user
Moycarkey retain O Riain Cup

Report by Michael Dundon for the Nenagh Guardian newspaper

Moycarkey-Borris 3-22 Boherlahan-Dualla 0-11

Holders Moycarkey/Borris, turned on the style in the second half of this O Riain Cup final on Saturday evening to overwhelm neighbours Boherlahan Dualla in what was a most disappointing final. Much was expected of this clash of neighbouring parishes, but in the end there was only one team in it as Boherlahan completely collapsed in the second half and with ten minutes to go, and Boherlahan down to fourteen men, many of the spectators were making their way to the exits.

No one would have predicted such an outcome at the interval. At that stage, Moycarkey-Borris were ahead by a mere two points, 0-9 to 0-7 with very little between the sides in a rather tame encounter that badly needed a goal to bring it to life. Indeed, Boherlahan could well have been in front only that some wayward shooting from frees cost them scores but still they came out for the second half with every reason for optimism. That optimism lasted scarcely ten minutes. Two Kieran Morris points from placed balls for Moycarkey extended their advantage and then came the killer blow as Robert Doran finished off good work by Ciaran Clohessy with a sixth minute goal, followed in rapid succession by two Morris points and another from Rory Ryan.

Thus a two point interval lead had stretched to ten and when Darragh Hickey’s blast for a goal was cleared by Moycarkey a minute later, the signs were ominous for Boherlahan who badly needed a goal at that stage to revive their challenge. Points by Brian Maher and Laurence Hickey gave Boherlahan some hope coming to the end of the third quarter but they subsequently failed to raise a flag as a rampant Moycarkey played as they pleased to register 2-7 without reply in the closing period. Pa Carey notched Moycarkey’s second goal in the 50th minute and to add to Boherlahan’s misery they had defender Johnny Maher red-carded a minute later for a tackle that was more awkward than malicious. It was all too easy now for Moycarkey and Rory Ryan flagged their third goal six minutes from time, the icing on the cake that brings down the curtain on what has been a reasonably successful campaign for Moycarkey-Borris at this level.

Boherlahan had done well early on, matching Moycarkey score for score until the first half went into extra time and points by Ciaran Clohessy and David Sheppard edged the holder two points clear 0-9 to 0-7. Granted it was a very low-key contest with none of the fire or enthusiasm expected from a clash of neighbours, but it was very much in the melting pot as the sides retired for the break. While disappointment is Boherlahan-Dualla’s uppermost emotion at this stage, they can look back on a decent campaign which got them to the final, and while things became unstuck in the later stages the good work of John Dwyer, Fionn McCullagh, Brian Maher, Aidan Maher, and William Hickey until forced to retire was commendable while Dara Kennedy and Laurence Hickey also worked hard.

No dispute about the worthiness of Moycarkey’s win and the challenge for them now is to build on this O’Riain double to get themselves seriously into the frame to compete for higher honours. They will take many positives from it, not least the excellent team work and the huge number of scores registered. Pat Molloy and Kevin Moran excelled in defence with Rory Ryan, Pa Carey, David Sheppard, Ciaran Clohessy and the accurate Kieran Morris also to the fore.

Man of the Match: Pa Carey (Moycarkey/Borris)

Scorers –
Moycarkey: Kieran Morris 0-8, 6 frees; Pa Carey, Rory Ryan 1-2 each; David Sheppard 0-4; Ciarán Clohessy 0-3; Robert Doran 1-0; David Moran, Brian Moran, Mossie Bracken 0-1 each.
Boherlahan: Darragh Hickey 0-4, 3 frees; Laurence Hickey, Brian Maher 0-2 each; Derek Patterson, Paul Ryan, Seamie Leahy 0-1 each.

Moycarkey-Borris: John Kelly; James Power, David Morris, Kevin Moran; Paul Dempsey, Pat Molloy, Ailbe Power; Pa Carey, Brian Moran; Rory Ryan, David Sheppard, Mossie Bracken; Ciaran Clohessy, Phil Kelly, Kieran Morris.
Subs: Robert Doran for J Power; John Bergin for Clohessy; Gerard Carey for Morris; Eamon Clohessy for J Kelly; Joe O Sullivan for A Power.

Boherlahan-Dualla: Joe Ryan; Johnny Maher, John Dwyer, AJ Maher; Dara Kennedy, Willie Hickey, Aidan Maher; Fionna McCullagh, Derek Patterson; Brian Maher, Paul Ryan, Darragh Devane; Darragh Hickey, Laurence Hickey, Seamie Leahy.
Subs: Seamus Hickey for W Hickey; Michael Murphy for Devane; Andrew Downey for A J Maher; Gary Crowe for Patterson.

Referee: Ger Fitzpatrick (Roscrea)