Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tipperary Co-Op U16A County Football Final - Moycarkey Borris 2-14 Inane Rovers 5-2

posted 9 Jul 2016, 10:47 by Michelle Donnelly   [ updated 9 Jul 2016, 15:11 ]
On Saturday last in Leahy Park Cashel, the Moycarkey Borris Under 16’s entered the history books with a three point victory over Inane Rovers in the Tipperary Co-Operative Under 16 A County Football Final. The Final was a very hard fought game with the two teams equally matched and determined to win to the County title.

Inane Rovers opened the scoring with a goal in the second minute while Moycarkey had to wait till the fourth minute when Darren Flood pointed a free. For the next fifteen minutes both teams contested hard for scores but they evaded them. Moycarkey’s goal chances saved by goalie, Shane Treacy and Owen Tynan, Inane Rovers had an opportunity which hit the post and Luke Cashen rebounded the ball but Ryhs Shelly secured the ball and kicked to safety. In the eighteenth minute Kevin Hayes pointed for Moycarkey and in the following minute Darren Flood equalised another point. Jack Fallon placed two more points on the score line for Moycarkey before Inane Rovers received a penalty which they scored to put them back in front by a point. This goal however, was the catalyst for another in the following minute just before the whistle and the sides went in at half time Inane Rovers 3-0 Moycarkey Borris 0-5.

Moycarkey opened the second half as Inane did in the first half with a raised green flag by Darren Flood. In the following minute James Dillon pointed to equalise the game. However, James Synnott, Inane Rovers netted the ball and a point from Darragh Tynan meant there was a four point margin. Moycarkey scored three more points from James Dillon, Darren Flood and Max Hackett before another Inane Rovers point from Darragh Tynan. Moycarkey’s Jack Fallon pointed as the clock entered the final quarter and Darren Flood equalised the following minute with a pointed free.

It looked like nothing was going to separate the teams but Moycarkey kept the pressure on with two more points from Darren Flood and Kyle Shelly. Moycarkey were still not out of the danger zone until Jack Fallon passed the ball to Kyle Shelly who netted it giving Moycarkey a lead of five points. Jack Fallon pointed another in normal time but it was an injury time goal by Aidan Booth, Inane Rovers which reduced the deficit to three points before the final whistle sounded - Moycarkey Borris 2-14 Inane Rover 5-2

Afterwards, team captain Tom Ryan accepted the cup on behalf of the Moycarkey-Borris team from Tipperary Bord na nÓg Chairman Tom Dawson. Congratulations to all the players and their families. A special word of thanks to the mentors who gave their time so freely, Dermot Maher, Vinnie Flood, Colm Ryan, Kevin Moran and Jamie Fanning.

Moycarkey Borris team - Rhys Shelly; Peter Melbourne, Tom Ryan, Diarmuid Maher; Kevin Hayes, Rory Darmody, Zach Jackson; Jack Fallon, Jack Morrissey; John Kirwan, Bill Maher, Max Hackett; James Dillon, Darren Flood, Kyle Shelly
Panel - Ciaran Kirwan, Aidan Scott, Conor Cummins, John Coffey, Brian O’Callaghan, Eamonn Martin, Bill Hackett, Pat Hackett, Paudie Gorman, Michael Maher, Daniel Brown, Brendan Looby, Shane Burke, Dylan Shaw, Tom Maher, Ben O’Dwyer, Liam McDonagh, Michael O’Donnell.
Scorers - Darren Flood 1-5 (3 frees), Kyle Shelly 1-1, Jack Fallon 0-4, James Dillon 0-2, Kevin Hayes 0-1, Max Hackett 0-1.

Inane Rovers team – Shane Treacy; Eoghan Bergin, Gavin Meagher, Brian McCabe; Jamie Ryan, Glen Loughnane, Kevin Moore; Brian Parlon, Enda Parlon; James Synnott, Owen Tynan, Darragh Tynan; Eoin Dooley, Vladimir Bodrov, Luke Cashen
Scorers - Owen Tynan 2-0, James Synnott 2-0, Aidan Booth 1-0, Darragh Tynan 0-2
Subs Used – Aidan Booth for Eoin Dooley (34th), Bradley Neville for Luke Cashen (45th), Conor Shanahan for Vladimir Bodrov (52nd)