Match Reports‎ > ‎

Two Mile Borris National School claim second title in the year

posted 28 May 2017, 12:29 by Michelle Donnelly   [ updated 3 Jun 2017, 14:39 ]
By John Corcoran
On Thursday, 25th May Two Mile Borris National School captured the Under 11 B County Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol Hurling title after defeating Ballina National School with a score line of 3-9 to 1-4 in Semple Stadium on one of the hottest days of the year. First half goals from Captain Mikey Carroll and brothers Tom and Eamon Ryan had Two Mile Borris in front at half time by 3-4 to 0-3. 
A strong Ballina second half comeback was prevented by some great saves by goalkeeper Louis Coughlan and some excellent defending by David Costigan and Sarah Corcoran. Some great scores by the accurate Jack Hayes and a long range score by David Costigan kept the scoreboard moving for Two Mile Borris to ensure that last years narrow Final loss was but a distant memory. This was a great performance by the whole panel of players, who earlier in the year had also won the Under 11 B County Tipperary Cumann na mBunscol Football Final. Thanks to teacher Liam McCullagh and coach Morgan Lanigan for their excellent coaching and work with the team throughout the year.

Match 8 U11 Roinn B Hurling Scoil Mochaomhog Naofa 3-10 SN Béal an Átha 1-04

By Cumann na mBunscol

Two Mile Borris and Ballina were squaring up for their epic Roinn B final from the moment both teams emerged onto the pitch for their warm-ups. Both sides steely determination evident from their meticulous pre-match preparation. As the referee’s whistle sounded the start of the game both Tom Ryan and Billy Collins notched a point on the scoreboard for Two Mile Borris and Ballina respectively.  Billy Collins continued to notch up the scores for Ballina in the first half finding the crossbar twice more with deadly accuracy. Going into the second half however, it was Two Mile Borris who took a strong lead after two Jack Hayes goals before the whistle. Ballina were determined to push back against a string Two Mile Borris side. JP Mbokha Tansia scored 1-01 for the Ballina side to the delight of the Ballina supporters. Two Mile Borris were hard to shake however and Jack Hayes maanges another 0-04 from play with the support of David Costigan and Aaron Dwyer. Two Mile Borris opened up a lead that Ballina found hard to close. When the full-time whistle blew it was to the roars of Two Mile Borris team and supporters as their captain walked towards the presentation area to lift the shield for his side.

Scoil Mochaomhog Naofa Under 11 Roinn B Hurling Team: 2.Killian Cantwell, 3.Louis Coughlan, 4.Sarah Corcoran, 5.Tom Ryan, 6.David Costigan, 7.Jack Hayes, 8.Aaron Dwyer, 9.Eamon Ryan, 10.Tristain Troy, 11.Cathal Clancy, 12.Rory Heffernan, 13.Mikey Carroll, 14.Mark Drohan, 15.Molly O Dwyer, 16.Shane Crowe Doyle, 17.John Mulligan, 18.Sean O Dwyer. Principal: Joan Doherty. Coaches: Liam McCullagh & Morgan Lanigan.

S.N. Béal an Átha  - u11 Roinn B Iománaíocht: 1. William Bennett Quaid, 2. Conor Stritch, 3. Charlie Grace, 4. JP Mbokha Tansia, 5. Ruadhán O’Callaghan, 6. Billy Collins, 7. Seán Lyons, 8. Luke Power, 9. Dónal Houlihan, 10. Callum Foley, 11. Paddy Dowling, 12. Callum Deegan, 13. Alex Quinn, 14. Cian O’Donoghue, 15. Beck Beddows. Príomhoide: Bernice O’Connell. Múinteoirí: Adrian Ó Donnabháin & Dónal Neville.